Submission guidelines

Have you ever come across  funky submission guidelines for magazines? Or maybe they’re not weird but they’re weird for you because you’ve never seen them. That’s what happened to me this morning. I submitted two stories – one is a short story, Terror in the Dark, and the other is a brand new flash fiction, Ghostly Visit.

Funny story behind that one. I thought the listing said the magazine was looking for “paranormal experiences” for their non-fiction section. I was so psyched to be able to write one of my own accounts. Then I looked at the listing again when I was writing the cover letter and found it said “personal experiences.” Needless to say, I felt like an idiot. They were looking for seasonal scary pieces for their Fall issue so I mutated what I read in the non-fiction section.

Dork.

But I still thought it was a good story and it was short enough so I deleted the non-fiction essay parts, tweaked the story, and voila! Flash fiction. About 1-2 hours later, I had submitted Terror to one magazine (the second is closed now so I’ll have to wait. Hate that!) and Ghostly to two more magazines. Two of those magazines pay while the 3rd (IdeaGems, lack of funds so they can no longer give monetary payment) does not.

If you’re looking for a magazine that caters mainly to flash fiction, I’d try visiting Vestal Review. They have a huge archive and the stories are so entertaining!

http://www.vestalreview.net

Anyway, the submission guidelines at IdeaGems was extremely unfamiliar to me and it made my story look super weird. I hope I did it all correctly or, if I didn’t, that it doesn’t make the editor throw my submission into the virtual trash. I’d hate to be rejected because I didn’t understand unfamiliar guidelines rather than on the merit of my work.

Keep your fingers crossed for my new submissions and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for all of you!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Magazines, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

