Writer’s Digest

The more time I spend in the writing world, the more I find the Writer’s Digest site and subsequent books to be of phenomenal help. They give information on everything from how to write to how to find an agent to how to publicize yourself so your writing sells. Every question a writer could have can be answered in one convenient place: http://www.writersdigest.com.

Whenever I need information, this is the first place I go. Most of the time the information I need can be found specifically from Chuck Sambuchino, the editor of “Guide to Literary Agents.” If you’re looking for new agents in particular for your manuscript, I’d suggest going to his blog. He has a section that features new agents and veteran agents who are looking to increase their client list. He also features guest posts from new and existing authors who have a new book coming out. Comment on their post and you could win a chance at a free copy of their new book! That’s how I got my own copy of “Sebastian Falls” by Celeste Holloway. It took a couple months for Mr. Sambuchino to notify me that I had won a free copy, but Ms. Holloway wasted no time in sending me a signed copy of her book. Needless to say, I was super excited when I checked my mail and saw I had a package. It was like Christmas in September!

Ms. Holloway has her own blog at http://www.celholloway.blogspot.com. I’d give it a look if I was you.

As always, have fun writing and, when all hope seems lost, don’t give up! Keep on putting one foot in front of the other and you’ll come out all right in the end.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Advice/Helpful Sites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s Digest

  1. Celeste Holloway says:

    Can’t believe I’m just now seeing this! Thanks so much for the kind words. I hope you enjoyed reading Sebastian falls, or at the very least, a friend of a friend of a friend did.

    Smiles,
    Celeste Holloway

    • Sebastian Falls grabbed my attention right off the bat. I’m a huge horror fan so the scary parts and the way you didn’t info dump kept me reading to find out more. I wasn’t expecting what the story turned into (don’t want to drop any spoilers for others reading this who haven’t read your book). The description on the back certainly didn’t point to it. You had an interesting and, I believe, original take on God and everything. It was difficult to stop reading because I wanted to know how it all turned out.

      How did you get it published? It’s been so long since I read the post on you on Writer’s Digest that I don’t remember most of what it said. Did you go through an agency? If so, which one? Was it self-published?

      Good job Sebastian Falls! 😀

Leave a Reply

