Audiobooks

I’m going to keep this short because my eye still hurts from my son’s attack on it last night. He looked at me and then literally jammed his finger into my eyeball. Though it didn’t bleed, it hurt and teared so much I thought for awhile that he had scratched it. But the pain went away and only returned last night when I cried while watching a movie. However, I’ve found that it hurts today as well and I think it has something to do with my eye drying out. I forget to blink when I’m working. Argue as much as you want about it being an involuntary action, but I know people can forget to blink. Just watch people when they concentrate really hard on something. They blink less often. Doctors suggest eye drops to heavy computer users all the time because of their eyes drying out from lack of blinking.

But what does a book lover do when she can’t read for long periods of time due to a scraped eyeball?

Audiobook!

I discovered audiobooks sometime last year. The site I prefer is Audible.com. I can download them directly to my computer and put them on my ipod to listen to when I run. It’s amazing how long you can go when your brain is somewhere else. The one problem is that they’re really expensive. I have a cd player so I can listen to them at home but quite frequently they might have some adult language or content that my son shouldn’t hear so I have to wait till he’s asleep or use headphones. It can be quite annoying as then I’m tied down to when I can listen to the book or where I can go when I am listening to it.

The library is an awesome place to go for free audiobooks. Right now I have technically 3 audiobooks out but as one box contains 3 different books by Jane Austen, I actually have 6. Will I be able to finish them all by the time they’re due book? Probably not. But that’s hardly the point. The library has been a huge friend to me since having to cut back on our spending. And audiobooks have been a lifesaver with my dry eyes. Now that one of them is hurt, I rely even more on my audiobooks to while my free time away.

My chosen book of the moment is Jane Austen’s “Persuasion.” It comes in 8 cds and is read by Michael Page. Does anyone else think it’s odd that a man is reading a book where the main character is female? I was hesitant at first and very much doubted it would work. How could a man’s voice transport me into the life and story of Anne Elliot? His voice would sound very silly and false. I was wrong. Michael Page does an excellent job of reading and assuming different voices for all the characters, female and male. I recommend this unabriged Brilliance Audio version of the book.

Weekly Writing Challenge:

Last March I was doing a March Madness writing challenge at Nephele Tempest’s blog – Writing and Rambling. One task she had us doing during the month was to think of 20-30 writing prompts. A writing prompt is a snippet of an idea or a few interesting words put together that might inspire a story.

I’m not asking you to write prompts of your own this. This time I’m giving you a prompt that my friend H.L. Henrikson gave me.

*A girl’s transformation begins with a simple, white skirt.*

I challenge you to make a story from this prompt. Doesn’t matter how short or how long.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

