Magazine Arrived!

As I said before in a previous post, I’ve finally gotten a story published! IdeaGems Magazine accepted my flash fiction “Ghostly Visit” for their Special Fall issue. I received a free PDF copy but I wanted a hardcopy (of course) so I went to the printing site (the magazine is printed on-demand) and ordered a copy for myself. It said it takes 1-2 days to print and then another 1-2 weeks to send out. Well, it took the 1-2 days to print but it arrived less than a week later!

I got it in the mail today and I was so happy to see my name, face, bio, and story printed in a real magazine. It was a dream-come-true!

When I got over my excitement of seeing my work published and my name under the title, I went on to read the other stories in the magazine. I’ll be honest – some were good, some weren’t. One was just plain confusing. Something about five words and “I love you” and being locked in a dingy hallway. I didn’t get it.

I’ve heard conflicting advice on how to write – treat your audience like they’re smart; treat your audience like they’re dumb. This writer I think treated her audience like they were smart. Obviously I wasn’t smart enough. Either that or she wasn’t. I like to think she wasn’t smart enough to write clearly but that’s kind of mean of me so I’ll go the middle route between being mean and being self-deprecating – her style of writing didn’t match my style of thinking.

Her style of writing was vague and, possibly, creative. My style of thinking tends to be more logical. I’ll usually tell it how it is and not make vague references to what’s going on. I’ll give explanations and descriptions. She did not. So I’m stuck wondering why is this woman locked in a hallway? Who locked her in there? What’s going on? The writer doesn’t say. Others reading it probably thought it was very deep and mysterious.

Others might find it thought-provoking. I found it merely provoking.

Read that sucker over nearly 5 times but made minimal progress in my search for answers. I think I’m too literal and logical for that story.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

