Fun Times with a Sick Child

For the majority of this last week my son was feverishly sick. After his fever broke, he was left with a nasty mucus-y cough and a runny nose but tons of energy and a healthy appetite. So instead of going out we stayed inside reading and watching movies. Guess who likes The Hobbit now? MUWHAHAHAHAHA!!! Gollum is too much for him though. Can’t blame him – the animated version of The Hobbit when I was a kid was way scary for me. The animation made even Bilbo seem frightening! Every frown of confusion made him look like he was going to bash my head in and eat my brains! Anyway, we skip the scary parts and I never let him watch it alone because that would be too much for him to take. However, when there’s sword fighting he jumps to his feet, brandishes his invisible sword, and defends us all from the evil orcs! Oooooh it makes me laugh! What a cutie!

And before people gasp and say I’m a horrible mother for letting him watch something so grown-up, let me first say that both his dad and I had serious misgivings about it but there were the happy times in the beginning of the movie and the traversing through the countryside. The bad language is minimal and the violence is nothing he hasn’t seen already in The Clone Wars. It’s sad but there it is. But I watch him carefully just in case he’s reached his scare limit and I ask him often during the scary parts if it’s too much at which point I skip forward to happy scenes. He really likes Radagast and the cleaning-up song the dwarves sing in the beginning.

I finished reading Agatha Christie’s Poirot novel “After the Funeral” too. It was so good! Very different though. Poirot barely did anything in the novel but still figured everything out. I thought the mirror-image theory was interesting too. I won’t go into details because I wouldn’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

