Star Wars Boring?

Everything in my life at the moment seems to center around my son and fitness. Sometimes the two even go together because my son will join me when I’m trying new workouts. This shouldn’t be putting my writing on the back-burner but that’s what seems to have happened.

I feel the ideas drifting along in an invisible body of water in my mind but when I try to reach for them they’re forced away from me. Always out of reach. Like when you try to reach through water to get some unknown speck and it keeps getting pushed out of reach from the force of your movements through the water. Very aggravating when I’m literally trying to do that. Figuratively though, I know getting aggravated will just force the idea further away so I’ll never get it so I remain calm and wait.

I feel these ideas but I don’t know what they are. Vague shapes in the distance, wavering in the heat that’s radiating from the asphalt in summer.

So I’m trying to read instead. This would be quite easy if I hadn’t chosen such a boring book. I love the Star Wars movies, even Clone Wars. But trying to read The Phantom Menace by Terry Brooks is proving much more difficult than I anticipated. The problem is that I hate Anakin Skywalker. I liked the movie but hated the actor they found for the kid. And the actor they found for his “grown-up” counterpart in Episodes 2 & 3 is even worse. I can stand the kid Anakin but I despise the spoiled, conceited, selfish brat who he becomes in 2/3. At least in the Clone Wars they have him acting more like a normal, responsible adult.

Ugh. Breathe. Don’t get started on that. Anyway, I thought I’d like The Phantom Menace because I like most of the characters but it’s just not interesting. I’m not quite sure why but it feels like I’m slogging through it. I’m even skipping parts now! I hate doing that but it doesn’t feel like I’m missing out on anything.

Bad sign. Skipping parts in a book but still not missing anything? Ouch. But maybe I’m the kind of person who prefers to watch sci-fi and not read it? Maybe. I read Rogue Planet by Greg Bear when I was in high school and really enjoyed that though. It’s the book that comes after The Phantom Menace. Oh well.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

