“Rapunzel” is Published!

After nearly 2 months of waiting for DM du Jour to publish my short story “Rapunzel,” they finally did on Friday, November 29, 2013! Black Friday no less. Awesome! It’s a blog that is associated with the online magazine Danse Macabre. I originally submitted the work to Danse Macabre but it was rejected for whatever reasons it had.

However!

It’s blog, DM du Jour, wanted it! I took a chance and asked the burning question writers always want to know when their work has been rejected: Why was my work rejected?

Except I didn’t ask it like that. I asked how the blog got all their material because they post on an almost daily basis.

“I mostly use work that has been submitted to Danse Macabre, but for one reason or another hasn’t made it into the big book. Mostly because, although it’s good, it’s not a good fit with the rest of the issue.

So she thought my work was good enough to be published but the reason it was rejected when I submitted to the actual magazine was probably because it didn’t fit with the rest of the issue. Makes sense. Opens up a whole new idea for why my stories might get rejected from magazines too. This makes getting that rejection easier…for me at least.

Right now “Rapunzel” is at the top of their blog because it’s their most current posting. However, the more time goes by the more it’ll get pushed downward so the more scrolling will be needed to find it. Or I guess one could do Cntrl + F and type in “Rapunzel.” I’m not sure if that works on the internet or not though. I haven’t tried it in forever because I don’t use a normal computer when I’m on the internet. Somebody who uses a computer try it and tell me!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Magazines, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

