Writing Through Distractions

I got about 30 minutes of writing in yesterday! Now here’s my list of distractions that I was able to successfully write through:

  1. Painful cold in my head and throat
  2. 4-year-old son sitting next to me with iPad, occasionally asking me to race for him on his car racing app to get him more coins/stars
  3. Charlie Brown playing on the TV in front of me
  4. freezing cold apt
  5. sweating hot apt
  6. listening to music on my headphones
  7. texting
  8. drinking coffee

That last one wasn’t really a distraction but a god-sent.

All of those distractions and I still managed to apply myself rather well to my work. The only reason I stopped at 30 minutes was because I desperately needed a shower after sweating in a hot bathrobe with a humidifier on in the room. I was stinky! And my husband was coming home in about 10 minutes so I really needed to get into the shower.

Go me though! Power through those distractions to excel past the minimum amount of daily writing time. Woo!

Sometimes distractions can be very distracting and they need to be dealt with before we can start to write (like having my coffee ready and next to me before I start working). Most other times though distractions are merely what we invent for ourselves in order to procrastinate. Argue all you want but if I can power through my own distractions, other people can too. Most of these things aren’t really a distraction – we just imagine they are.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Through Distractions

  1. Holly says:

    Totally true. I say I can’t write without freedom from other people, but that’s (probably) not true. I just prefer a quiet, uninterrupted space to do my best work. Could I write with a screeching three-year-old insisting on sitting in my lap and pushing keys so he can type, too? Maybe. Maybe not. Can I write when surrounded by noise and people and chaos, even though I say I can’t? Yeah, I can. I used to write at school all the time, perpetually surrounded by people coming and going and shouting. I’m just out of practice. And really, overcoming distractions is a matter of practice, like most other things in life.

    Good job getting in such good practice, and emerging victorious!

    • Yeah, it does take a lot of practice and I usually have a really difficult time writing through distractions caused by my son and by the TV. I lucked out this time because my son’s main attention was taken by the TV and by his game. The movie was boring for me so I turned on my music to drown it out. Although I liked the music, I’m used to ignoring that. I’m prey to convincing myself that I need particular settings etc in order to write too. hehe Maybe everyone is to a certain extent. It’s an ongoing battle.

Leave a Reply

