Edit Printed Copy

I read “recently” that a good way to edit your manuscript is, when you think you’re done writing the whole thing, print the entire thing out and then skim through it from start to finish with sticky notes or something to make vague comments here and there when you find something that bugs you or is wrong etc.

Then go through it again and address each comment you made to yourself on those notes. I’ve thought of printing out my stories before to edit but always thought I was being extravagent and that it was unnecessary. When I told my husband about this technique he said that’s what he does with all of his papers too. Lo and behold, later that night he brought out his latest paper and did just that.

I’ve seen him do it a hundred times before. I wonder why it never occured to me to emulate him?

So I’ve decided that’s what I’ll do. Instead of waiting till I’ve finished making changes to my manuscript though (which I’ve done about 3-4 times already), I’ll finish an entire scene/place then print out those chapters and look through them again. I mean, 250 pages is quite a bit to print out all at once and I just don’t have that sort of money to dish out in one go.

I finished ch 1 & 2 last week and meant to print them out before Christmas but that obviously didn’t happen because the library was closed I found out and I didn’t want to go elsewhere (businesses can be super expensive to print your stuff out!) so I waited and started reading another Poirot novel in the meantime.

Just finished Stephen King’s Joyland over the weekend. Was good but it took me forever to get into it. Even then it was really only interesting at the very end. Ho hum but at least it surprised me at the end and the writing was very good.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Advice/Helpful Sites, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edit Printed Copy

  1. EarthGirly says:

    I believe in the power of print! πŸ™‚
    Really, though. Our brains catch different things on paper than they do on a screen. Especially if the only way we’re used to reading it is on the screen. I also find it easier to make big changes to the story when it’s in print, like I can visualize the big picture better when I have a tangible representation of it. As such, I’ve wanted to do this with everything I’ve ever written. But yeah – way too expensive! Especially with novels. So I tried the chapter at a time approach for a while, but with my super long novels, even that was too much. I eventually switched to just printing the sections that were giving me lots of trouble. And now I don’t ever print anything. 😦 I did see that printers that were $500+ when we were in college are now down to $100 with some spectacular bells and whistles, though. So maybe someday I’ll get back to using the printed word.

Leave a Reply

