New Year’s Resolution

Why do people make New Year’s Resolutions? Is it some kind of masochistic desire to encourage guilt and self-pity? I don’t know a single person who has kept their resolutions, myself included. For awhile I stopped making resolutions so I couldn’t break them. One year I even resolved never to make another New Year’s Resolution.

I’m breaking that now because it’s no fun. Everyone else is making resolutions and sharing them but what do I have to share? In the beginning it was new and enjoyable to say I had resolved to never make another resolution. But that’s no longer new or different. Lots of people say it now.

If I make no resolutions to better myself, what reason do I have to push myself forward? Honestly, I’ve ceased to need a resolution to push myself harder. I push myself all the time and have succeeded and failed at a myriad of goals. I don’t need a resolution, but I think this year it would be enjoyable to say I have one.

I’ve lost running speed. I gained belly fat over the summer (odd that it should be in the summer and not the winter but there are very good reasons for that). I’ve gotten lax with my writing. I’m a terrible housekeeper.

So what do I “resolve” to do this year? Pretty much the same thing I do every year except this time I’m giving it the title of being my New Year’s Resolution.

  • I resolve to work harder on my fitness, eating, and writing

Here are my main goals to accomplish this year:

  • Get my 5k speed back to under 35 minutes
  • Train for a half-marathon
  • Finish the fitness challenges I give myself
  • Write/Edit at least 15 minutes every day
  • Finish the circuit fusion demo class once and for all so I can start subbing
  • Clean the apt twice a week
  • Finish 30-Day Shred

Considering how good I am at staying on task, I’m really only aiming at getting better at some of those items (like cleaning and writing). But if I could manage to keep with it all entirely, wow…that’d be great!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolution

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    (I’m tired of changing my log-in everywhere all the time, so you’re just going to get me as Shadow from now on. Still me, though!)

    I always say that I don’t make “resolutions,” I set “goals.” There’s not really a huge difference, except in my brain. In my head, resolutions are things that people say on the first of the year that they really wish would be true. They’re not goals so much as saying, “Shame on me for not doing this yet; I would really like to do it this year.” A goal, on the other hand, is something we aim for, work for, and keep track of. Some resolutions I like – the ambiguous, hard-to-quantify things. Like, “I resolve not to yell at my kids so much.” Or “I resolve to be nicer to myself this year.” Things that are more about attitude than action, I guess. Like the way you laid out yours. πŸ™‚

    I know one person who actually followed through on his resolution last year. Except by my definition, it was a year-long goal not a resolution. πŸ˜‰ He resolved to run or hike a mile each day of the year, and he did it. Apparently through fevers and colds and negative-degree weather. I have a mixture of admiration and worry for him…because I, personally, don’t think one should sacrifice health or well-being in pursuit of a health goal. But that’s me. His dedication and consistency floor me…which is why I decided I was going to try to write every day this year. Because that is the ONLY thing in my life that I want to do anyway (these books won’t write themselves!) and the ONLY thing I actually have a chance of succeeding in doing…

    Good luck with your goals! You need any external challenges or anything (you do an awesome job of motivating yourself internally, so you probably won’t, but…), you just say the word!

    • Yeah, the last couple years I’ve made goal for myself instead of resolutions. Goals I make any time of the year and, succeed or not, I try my best. My current goals just happened to coincide with the beginning of the year because that was a convenient time for me to start them. Hence calling them resolutions. I just want to better myself this year. That’s my resolution. Better myself physically and better myself creatively/mentally. Then I have actual goals with which to do this. πŸ˜‰ hehehe Even if it wasn’t the New Year though, I’d still have these resolutions. Why bother waiting for a new year to reach for your goals? My old goals needed an update so I used the new year to do so. πŸ˜‰

      So far this year has proved to be…tiring. Very tiring. LOL

Leave a Reply

