Writing Contests

Tiffany Luckey along with Ophelia Thomas spent an untold amount of time combing through the thousands of websites submitted by writers all over the world this year in order to find the best ones. The results of their efforts have been recorded in The 15th Annual 101 Best Websites for Writers featured in Writer’s Yearbook 2014. The sites have been divided into groups such as: creativity, writing advice, everything agents, jobs & markets, etc. Within those groups each site has an icon(s) next to it to let people know what the site offers.

For example: The Story Starter has an icon next to it marking it as geared toward young writers while Grammar Bytes! has two icons by its name saying it gives advice for writers and is on Twitter.

What I’ve done is gone through the list looking for those sites that offer writing contests. I’ve never cared for contests myself (having lost the few I entered in my high school and university days), but I know people who seem driven to enter writing contests whenever they can. This list is for them.

There are quite a bit of websites out there that hold writing contests. These are only the top bunch that were submitted by people in the global writing community.

I have two reasons for never submitting my work to contests. 1) I never even made Honorary Mention in the few free contests my high school and university held; and 2) It seems like a waste of money. You pay a large(ish) sum of money that I for one can’t afford to throw away for what? Most likely for the knowledge that you’re not quite good enough. Remember, only one person can win a contest. However, for that one person (and the two others who almost make it) the rewards can be wonderful.

If you’re a contest-lover, good luck! If not (like me), have fun saving your money to throw away on something else.

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Advice/Helpful Sites and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

