Editing Suuuuucks!

Like a vacuum cleaner!

I’ve finally gotten my butt in gear and started editing my manuscript again. I wanted to read over the first two chapters again and edit a printed copy but I wasn’t making any progress with that so I shrugged my shoulders and moved on with my life. The copies are there for when I need to look over them later.

I was quite industrious for 20 minutes before a raging sinus headache won out and I lost all energy and motivation to do anything but breathe. I don’t think I’ve had a sinus headache that bad in forever! Honestly, I don’t remember the last time I’ve had one so bad.

It’s because my brains have been stuffed into my sinus cavity. They sit there waiting, not even leaking really, just waiting until I get tired of the pressure and blow my nose. Then it’s a never-ending task of blowing out a river of mucus. It’s so nasty. Infected too which probably accounts for the pain in my sinuses.

I wonder if that connection between the infection and the headache is true. Sounds good to me.

It’s better today at any rate. So I get back to my editing and still have page 31 out of 214 staring me in the face.

31.

Out of 214.

And I plan on adding quite a bit more.

Sigh. Editing sucks. Fitness is so much easier. I can train for and finish a 5k race in less time than it takes me to edit my entire manuscript.

*NOTE: Currently on page 36 after nearly an hour and a half editing yesterday. There was a lot to change. I’m just happy I lasted that long.*

Writing Challenge:

I’ve given this one before but it’s a good thing to do so I’ll give it again considering today’s topic. Are you currently writing something? If so, go back and edit what you’ve written so far. Aim for 15-30 minutes.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Editing Suuuuucks!

  1. Sinus headaches are the worst! They are right there and it’s super hard to focus on anything else. I don’t know if you guys have it in the States, but I’m pretty sure you should, SUDAFED does wonders for me! As you probably understood, it’s a pill for specific occasions when you have this type of headache.

    Btw lately I’ve been having a ‘writer’ block. I’m not really a writer and don’t even consider myself as sch, but it’s been tough. I’m not quite sure if it’s me being tired from work or something else.

    Good luck with editing, darling!

    xoxo
    Olena

  2. We have Sudafed but I don’t specifically have it. It’s not often my headaches are that bad. Unless they’re migraines but that’s different. Something about Sudafed…I want to remember but can’t. Wasn’t there a drug warning about it some years ago? I think it might’ve become an over-the-counter drug here so people were limited to how much they could get. But maybe I’m thinking of another drug.

    I figure if your creative juices aren’t flowing then you’re blocked. HA! Sounds like constipation or something. We’re creatively constipated.

    Oh goodness! I really have my dad’s sense of humor because that cracks me up. ahh

    Sometimes I get a kind of fitness writer’s block. I try to create a new routine for whatever reason but I draw a blank and just stare at my blank paper. Or I have no clue for what to write on my blogs. It’s really frustrating. Usually that happens when I’m really tired though. You just got over a cold so maybe you’re just tired?

  3. ShadowDancer says:

    Sudafed (pseudoephedrine) did have a warning a few years back because kids were using it to make drugs. Anything that contained it thereafter required presenting an ID for a while, and then it was hard to find as they were retooling the drug. Now, most things that contained it contain phenylephrine (like Dayquil, which is my cold med of choice). I like it better because it doesn’t make my heart race like sudafed and still gets the job done.

    If you want a natural option, pick up some eucalyptus essential oil (I get them at Sprouts, but you can find them at Whole Foods and other natural health stores…as well as most new age shops). Toss a few drops on the wall of your shower and then take a nice, long, hot-ish shower and breathe deeply (nose preferably, but mouth works if you’re too stuffed up ’cause it’s all connected). First time I did it, my stuffy nose became a super faucet. Second time, I was just able to breathe better. But it also acts as a natural antibiotic, so if you have a sinus infection it will help fight it. (Eucalyptus oil is what’s in things like vaporub and the cough drops that clear up your sinuses…but it works without the drugs and the goop, too.)

    • I took my husband’s advice last night and soaked in a hot bath. I almost fell asleep at first. I never take baths, only showers so it was quite comfortable to be cocooned in hot water. I only wish my tub were bigger so my legs could be submerged too. Turns out this is a sinus infection and it’s massively painful. My poor head has a vice around it. Since losing weight Dayquil makes my head fuzzy and disoriented so I try not to take it anymore. I tried a Sudafed imitation yesterday I unearthed from our medicine box to no avail. It may be that it’s years too old to be potent though. I may just try that eucalyptus oil if only for the fun of it. Anything to relieve the pain in my head.

      • ShadowDancer says:

        I prepped a eucalyptus and lemon shower for the husband yesterday – he has the hacking cough, stuffy head goo – and he said he felt awesome for about three hours afterward. Then he had to take meds ’cause he crashed back into nastyville. Just FYI, in case it sways you. ^_^

  4. ShadowDancer says:

    I also meant to say – YES to your title. Because it really, really does.

    • I couldn’t edit at all yesterday. Just curled up and tried to rest. Hoping that rest, Airborne, cough drops, and hot baths will make me healthy sooner rather than later. Thank goodness I got my son a couple new games on my iPad. We try not to let him spend too much time with electronics but I figure this is an emergency. I NEED to get better, like, YESTERDAY!

      • ShadowDancer says:

        You can put the oil in bath water, too, it just then soaks into your skin as much as your nose. Better for it to be inhaled in steam with a sinus infection. I prefer the shower method to the one they use in movies, with the head and a bowl/pot of boiling water covered by a towel. It works just as well if you put the oil in the boiling water, but it’s more comfy in the shower. Less…cramped. I discovered yesterday that eucalyptus makes me light-headed, though, so keep a wall handy, just in case. 😉

Leave a Reply

