Various Fitness Magazines

My life is filled with family, fitness, and writing though not necessarily in that order. What better way to connect two parts of my life than by delving into writing for fitness magazines?

Am I endeavoring to write for any? No… I thought about trying and I occasionally still toss the idea around but I really have no idea what they’d want and I’m content reading them and collecting the workouts I find.

I thought I’d take this opportunity to list a few fitness magazines that were mentioned in Writer’s Yearbook 2014. I have subscriptions to 3 different magazines but only one of them was listed in Writer’s. Coincidentally, it’s my favorite magazine.

kate-hudson-bares-abs-for-shape-magazine-exclusive-quotes-02Shape (my personal fav)

Monthly magazine that covers health, fitness, nutrition and beauty. Targeted audience is women 18-34. They’re currently endeavoring to switch people to their electronic copy. You don’t have to switch, of course, but I find it convenient AND the electronic copies allow you to watch demo videos of featured routines so you know you’re getting the moves right. True, you can just go their website for the same thing, but this way is more convenient (for me anyway).

70% freelance. Circulation: 1,600,000. 33% kill fee. Accepts snail mail queries. When querying include some of your published work.

NEEDS: Book excerpts, exposé, health, fitness, nutrition-related, how-to health/fitness, recipes.

LENGTH: 2,500 words for features; 1,000 words for shorter pieces. Pays $1.50/word on avg.

TIPS: ‘Review a recent issue of the magazine. We rarely publish celebrity question-and-answer stories, celebrity profiles or menopausal/hormone replacement therapy stories.’

Muscle & FitnessAugust-2013

Monthly magazine geared toward bodybuilders and active men and women. It tends more toward hard core people who want lots of muscles and really shouts out to guys (although this cover always had my head turning when I walked by and running into polls/walls in the stores).

50% freelance. Circulation: 500,000. Accepts snail mail queries. When querying include some of your published work.

NEEDS: Book excerpts, how-to, training, humor, interviews, photo features.

LENGTH: 800-1,800 words. Pays $400-$1000.

TIPS: ‘Know bodybuilders and bodybuilding. Read our magazine regularly (or at least several issues), come up with new information or a new angle on our subject matter (bodybuilding training, psychology, nutrition, diets, fitness, sports, etc.), then pitch us in terms of providing useful, unique, how-to information for our readers’.

yogajournalcoverYoga Journal

As the title implies, this 9-issue magazine is geared toward yogis and is all about yoga.

75% freelance. Circulation: over 300,000. Kill fee. Accepts snail mail queries.

NEEDS: Book excerpts, how-to, exercise, inspirational, interviews, opinions, photo features, travel.

LENGTH: 3,000-5,000 words. Pays $50-$2,000.

TIPS: ‘Please read several issues…before submitting a query. Pitch your article idea to the appropriate department with the projected word count and what sources you’d use. In your query letter, please indicate your writing credentials. Please read our writer’s guidelines before submission.’

Do you subscribe to any magazines or buy single issues on the stands? What’s your favorite and why?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Magazines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

