BBC 100 Book List and Reading Challenge

Remember when BBC came out with a list of 100 books and claimed that the average person had only read about 4 or 6 books from the list? I must not have been average person at the time because I had read 20-30 of the books. Hopefully it’s even more now but, honestly, most of the books I read aren’t on the list.

Woe is me!

60a88926d0ba0cfa3c022d8078cee1b6

About a year ago I decided to try to read as many of those books as I could. I think I got about 5 books in before my eyes protested and I developed a bad case of dry eyes. Ever since I’ve been using eye drops. And reading books I enjoy rather than forcing myself to read the ones from the list.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed some of what I read but mostly not.

The Time Traveler’s Wife for instance. I don’t care how good people think it is and how much it was raved about – I didn’t like it. I thought it was mega boring merely because of all the extraneous detail.

She woke up, walked to the kitchen, got bread from fridge and put it in the toaster to be toasted.

Ugh! Boring! Who cares about the stupid toast!

Anyway, I’ve decided to make another attempt at reading books from the BBC 100 books list. But I’m not trying to read all of them. I’m just trying to branch out and add them in while I tackle my REAL challenge:

  • Reading 25 books in 2014

This didn’t used to be a challenge and it could prove to be too easy in which case I’ll increase the number to 40 or 50. But I spend so little time reading (I really only sit with a book in sporadic spurts – reading 1 or 2 with zeal and then taking a break for a month) that I think finishing 25 might prove challenging.

We shall see.

If you want to keep track of my goal, I’m on Goodreads. Or you can click on the link on the right side of my blog.

eb720c577414e5731095520f54bb2018

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BBC 100 Book List and Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

