Slow Days and Days and Days

Initially when I put down 25 books for the Goodreads challenge I thought it was a good goal. Then I went on a reading binge and thought the number might be too little.

Now? Now I’ve been on the same book since before my parents came a-visiting over a week ago. So I’m thinking 25 books might be a good number again.

As for writing, all of my writing desire gets put into my blogs (pfft) and my brain cells go into my fitness regime. I need to start prioritizing again or this is never going to stop and I’m never going to finish editing Night’s Treasure. I suppose I’m not really encouraging myself to continue though because I don’t like editing.

Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

dcbeb3541aaa69391b679489d7bb1677

My mornings have already been heavily claimed by fitness and blogging so they’re out of the question. But those things also trickled down into my afternoon and evenings. The problem is that the fitness side of my life drains my energy and my fries my brain cells so that I don’t have the desire to do much by the afternoon and evenings. I even go to bed at 8:30 some nights.

My early-20s and high school self are horrified.

I guess what I need to do is set aside 1-2 days a week for my blogging stuff and use the rest of those days for writing. I can always write up the blogs in the evenings after my son’s in bed. That gives me 4-5 days a week to focus on writing or, in this case, editing. It’s not daily but I can always work into that later when I’ve gotten things going.

Right now, anything’s better than nothing. Night’s Treasure is collecting dust! Well, figuratively speaking.

c722550e3fd7502afedda9dd0f483685

What do you do when you find your creativity and writing urges being sapped by something else?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow Days and Days and Days

  1. Hi darling! It looks like you’e got a good plan there. It definitely helps to refocus. Or maybe even changing up your workout routine will help a bit. It’s okay to have a small break from super intense workouts and to switch them up with routines for your soul and relaxation while doing some good stretching meanwhile. Just an idea 🙂 Also it will sound somewhat contradicting, but taking a week off blogging may help too. At least, it worked in my case, when I was overwhelmed by everything else or real life in general lol!xoxo

    • Hmm…There’s an idea. Actually, there are two ideas. 😉 It’s true I need to get some serious stretching in – my hip flexor in my left leg is seriously not happy with me. It started with the squat challenge so I’ve been wondering if that isn’t good for me in the long run. I’m going to take the stretching into serious consideration.

      The blogging I’ll keep on with just because I know my editing problem is purely a matter of being lazy. I end up surfing Pinterest and surfing the internet every morning to the point when I’m not doing anything else. I’m sure that’s not helping my hip flexors either. 😉 hehe I try to keep myself on track but I always end up getting caught up in whatever I’m doing on the internet. I used to be an internet and videogame junkie and it’s pretty easy to let myself fall into old habits. I guess like a recovered alcoholic or something. Actually, I have the same problem with junk food and I’m fighting against that one too.

      I guess now is the time to reform my life. Woo! Minus the AA meetings because I actually don’t like alcohol so much anymore. My younger self would’ve died from shock at that. HAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

