Reprioritizing and Editing

So far my prioritizing has been successful! Of course I’ve had about, what, 2 days to implement it. I can usually hold up the first few days in almost anything I try out.

Okay, fine, I know. It’s too early to tell yet. But it’s worked for the past 2 days at least. The hardest part has been to force myself to stay off the internet, off the iPad, and away from music. Music may help some people to write and it has, in the past, inspired certain scenes out of me, but on the whole, it’s become much more of a distraction than anything else.

eadcc62ed7426e503ca73d163fa7527e

How true is that. That’s what I have to remind myself when I’m staring at a blinking cursor and a blank screen.

The first day after I reprioritized my life, I activated the stop watch on my phone because I couldn’t find my normal watch (not the HR one though I guess I could’ve used that come to think of it) and told myself I had to sit and edit for 15 minutes at least. 30 minutes and 6 pages later I was tired but felt happily productive.

I’m still on chapter 3 but I’ll print it out when I’m done and look over it later to do yet more editing. There are spots I end up highlighting because they nag at me but I can’t think how to change them yet or if they’re okay the way they are. I’ll figure it all out later. Best to keep on pressing forward.

85813563a0b4a473b9147b693f590d00

Which is harder: editing or writing that first draft?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

