My Editing Progress

So far so good.

  • Mon – 2 pgs – 41min
  • Tu – 2 pgs – 35min
  • Wed – 7 pgs – 57min
  • Fri – 3 pgs 1hr47min

Chapter 3 finished after a century of sitting on my butt and ignoring it. Chapter 4 over halfway done.

Why did it take so long to get a little done some days but not other days? Some days there was more to change. Friday had a lot to change and a lot to think about. I kept making progress, going back and changing, resuming, going back, resuming, etc. It was slow-going and very involved.

466365532c244a08c318a90277dcaf8b

I even had to call my dad up once to ask his opinion because I couldn’t decide on the best way for writing the thought. Sometimes his ideas are so vague like, “Sounds good. I like it.” But other times he has such marvelous insight. This was one of those times. I asked him why he chose the sentence he did and his reasoning was so intelligent and literary that it made me feel like I don’t put enough thought into how I create sentences.

But if I analyzed every sentence for what hidden depths and meaning it might reveal to the reader, I don’t think I’d have any fun writing at all and then what would be the point?

ecb8b6a71bbc19f6962918fdca66455c

Who do you turn to when you can’t decide on the best sentence/scenario/etc to choose?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Editing Progress

  1. Your dad is like my hubby!!! However, most of the times, it’s ll he says. lol! xoxo

  2. ShadowDancer says:

    That Friday count made me go “AUGH!” with gut-wrenching, finger-cramping empathy. But I’m glad you embraced it as the awesome work it was! Spending nearly two hours on three pages is dedication. 😀

    • I know, right?! I was adding to a scene and introducing 4 new characters. I kept making progress and then going back and changing on something I previously put in then going back to my spot to make more changes there. Then it’s back again to the previous spot and on again. Progress, back up, progress, back up. It would’ve been frustrating if my brain hadn’t been so involved in the thought process. Instead the time passed rather quickly though I didn’t get much done. Character descriptions and introductions. Difficult. Very difficult. Mostly because my brain kept saying, “No, no, no. This would be way better. Have them look like this. Oh wait! Now you have to go back and change all of the brothers so they all have this attribute. Can’t introduce him like this. I think this guy should have a bigger part later on. He needs a bigger intro. What does he look like again? I forgot…Hey! This would be cool for them all to have! Oh wait, that girl needs to have it on a lesser degree too…Gotta go back and change her appearance…” lol Awful. Just awful. 😉

Leave a Reply

