Disordered Schedule and (Un)Hopeless Romantic

Spring break threw me into complete disorder with all my daily activities. I didn’t get my normal exercise in; I didn’t get my writing in. I did get sleep and then had the craziest dreams. In one dream my sister and I pooped on the floor and then she ate it all!

I told my husband about the dream and he said, in South Korea, poop dreams are considered good. But my sister eating the poop? He had no idea what that meant.

A couple days later one of the gift cards I received from Victoria’s Secret turned out to be worth a ton of money. I couldn’t exchange it for cash so I went on a gigantic spending spree. My husband hoped that I’d have more dreams of my sister eating poop.

One would think that I’d buy tons of sexy lingerie or alluring perfume or makeup with that gift card. Did I? Alas, I’m too practical. I bought functional items.

53d1c4f76cdb1e7666fe61d9bb3522e6

The least functional was the swimsuit but, sadly, it wasn’t a skimpy bikini. I’d blind people if I wore one of those tiny things. It was a tankini.

Speaking of being unromantic, I added green food coloring about a week ago to the last of the carnations I got for my birthday last month. I wanted to see how long it would take them to start turning green. So much for keeping flowers for the romance of flowers. No, I have to play with them and see if I can change their color.

My romantic side is confined to books, songs, and movies. When confronted with romance in real life, I find myself laughing or cynically wondering what the guy’s ulterior motive is. Well, not anymore because I’m married and my husband isn’t romantic but I still have memories.

But writing romance? Ah! I love writing out love scenes! Anything steamy or girlishly exciting. A dizzying first kiss, a smoldering gaze… I lose myself in my writing when I plunge into those scenes.

cb58cac8975ee59abb453184e00eece2

I have plans to try my hand at a romance novel in the future but not for a while.

Oo! Here’s a heads-up for my next post – romance writing.

What do you enjoy writing most?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

