Ways to Brainstorm and Carrying Paper/Pen at all Times

Everyone has their own way of brainstorming. We all do it even if we don’t realize it. Anyone who’s considering different ideas or different possibilities for whatever reason is brainstorming. Some people enjoy this activity while others consider it a means to an end and do it for the simple fact that they must.

Let’s face it, sometimes brainstorming sucks. We sit there staring at the wall, a blank piece of paper, a blinking cursor – our minds empty. Or maybe ideas are coming but they’re total trash or they don’t interest us.

Maybe the problem that we’re trying to figure out is so difficult we can’t think of an appropriate solution.

Sometimes the solution to this problem is simple – change the way you’re brainstorming.

Now, some of the “techniques” listed below aren’t techniques – they’re questions to ask yourself. But I’m putting this up because all questions are useful when it comes to brainstorming.

bc1f562ef74705de83b463f403e9303f

That being said, sometimes the best ideas come in a flash of insight when you’re not doing anything connected with writing. Write those ideas down. Don’t let them escape. You can always look at them later and brainstorm their details or how they can work on a larger or smaller scale.

344c72329cf776e3e295bb0b9400c0ca

I don’t normally get ideas when I’m out and about away from paper or a computer but when I do it’s been frustrating to lose the feel of it later because I haven’t been able to write it down. I tend to daydream a lot and semi-cement ideas in my head but sometimes it’s not enough. Now I carry around a small notepad I got from a writing workshop I recently attended.

How do you like to brainstorm? Do you carry around something to record your ideas?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Advice/Helpful Sites and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

