Getting Organized and My Editing Progress

I’m finally getting organized and apparently not a moment too soon. I wrote up a list of things I needed to do today because I had so many I was sure I’d forget the most important ones.

One item on my list was to get a planner. I intended to use it as an easy way to keep track of what days I write and how much etc. I’ve been doing that on notecards, true, but this appealed to my sense of organization and I hadn’t spent any of my allowance so I figured what the hey.

(On a side note, Office Debot had the most boring planners. I swear. If they weren’t “Academic Planners” which go from July-June instead of Jan-Dec, they were boring and ugly. Luckily I found some cool artsy tape to spruce it up and make it mine. I may have to get some later.)

Thank goodness I got it because I also went to my son’s future Kindergarten to register him for the Fall. There’s an orientation I have to go to and a screening. I started thinking about what else I need to remember.

  • Providing snacks to our next United Marriage class
  • Speaker at the library
  • 5k race
  • Write on the River Conference
  • Memoir Writing Workshop
  • Husband’s Seattle Conference
  • Visiting parents
  • Renaissance Faire

I wonder if I’ve forgotten anything…?

On another note, I can now easily see how productive I’ve been with my writing lately.

  • 4/10 – 5pgs 54min – CH 4 DONE
  • 4/15 – 1pg 37min
  • 4/16 – 2pgs 40min
  • 4/17 – 4pgs 1hr26min
  • 4/18 – 10pgs 1hr22min – CH 5 DONE
  • 4/21 – 7pgs 1hr10min
  • 4/22 – 13pgs 1hr8min – CH 6 DONE
  • 4/23 – 2pgs 55min

Wow! How am I getting so many pages done in so little time on one day and so few pages done on other days? Less to change the long days.

24afc319889001584460c3d027bf895a

Adverbs. They remain an issue with me. Commas too but I’m getting better with both.

edca97583ba5bb567704f28c4014b157

Which draft am I on now? I’ve lost count but hopefully it no longer stinks like poopy-caca.

How do you stay organized?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Advice/Helpful Sites, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

