Meeting Best-Selling Author Marissa Meyer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let me first say how AWESOME it was to meet Marissa Meyer! She was friendly and fun and her main interests coincided with mine to such an extent that I’m pretty sure, had we grown up in the same school, we would’ve been great friends.

Sailor Moon (I wonder if she likes other anime?), fanfiction, fairy tales, mermaids (Disney’s The Little Mermaid to be precise), writing since childhood, reading (similar authors I mean), Star Wars, etc.

(Side Note: If you’re interested in reading her Sailor Moon fanfiction, her penname is Alicia Blade.)

Having not grown up even remotely near each other and her being famous while I’m pretty much a nobody, I think it’s safe to say we’ll never be friends. If she took a chance on one of her oodles of fans I think we’d hit it off pretty well but I know enough not to try or hope. That’s too stalker-ish for me.

That being said, maybe I’ll have a chance if I ever become famous as well.

One of the many stories she told us of her interests included a Halloween from her childhood when she was told to dress up as a Klingon. No, she doesn’t know anything about Klingons except that they don’t smile. Her family kept telling her to stop smiling so much – Klingons don’t look so happy.

When she said she once dressed up as a Klingon (she showed us a picture of it too) as a kid, my first thought was of a joke my sister and I used to say about me:

I’m a Klingon and I come from Uranus.

HAHAHA! Yeeeaaaah, I’m a loser.

Lots of people showed up so the signing line was long afterwards, but I was happy to wait while talking with my newfound blogging friend, Hayley Knighten! Her blog is called Books are Delicious! and you can also check her out on Facebook, Twitter (@hayleyknighten), Goodreads, etc. She also does book reviews for the online entertainment magazine WatchPlayRead.

She had enough forethought to bring a camera with her so I took a picture of her and Meyer together. I found out later that this was not Hayley’s first go at meeting a major author. She knew to come prepared.

It never occurred to me to bring a camera – I was content to lament the fact that I don’t have a smart phone. I don’t keep the pictures I take with my “dumb” phone. I used to but then I lost them all anyway for some reason when I switched phones so I gave up on saving them.

Then it was my turn to get my book signed. I bought Cinder ahead of time specifically for this purpose. Had I had more cash, I would’ve bought Scarlet at the signing but we’re so low this week that I can’t even spend $12 for the race I was going to run this weekend. Oh well.

Anyway, Meyer had also brought freebies for people to take! I wanted one of everything but didn’t want to be greedy as there were still people in line behind me. So I contented myself with a bookmark and a Team Scarlet button pin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that I think back though, I could’ve taken a Rieux postcard (I think it was a postcard). There were lots of those…

Oh well.

I wanted a Team Cinder as well because she’s my favorite but… I have a special liking for Little Red Riding Hood so I chose Scarlet.

I’m all grown up and thinking of others now. It used to be when I’d take as much as I could of anything free with no thought to anyone else. When did I become so thoughtful?

BARF!!!

One final note…I thought beforehand on what I might say to her when I met her but when she was signing my book all I could get out was that I was really excited to meet her and that I’ve been working on my own book for the last 2 years or so. Her success gave me renewed hope that I’d make it too. Then I thanked her and told her to have a good one.

Kinda lame but I didn’t want to hold up the line like some other people did (not that I grudged them that because, as I said, I was happily employed talking to Hayley). I said the most important of what I wanted to say so I have no regrets. In fact, talking about pettier things such as our coinciding interests probably would’ve made me feel awful afterwards so I’m glad I held my tongue on those.

For once I didn’t stick my foot in my mouth! WOO!!!

What author(s) do you want to meet?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Meeting Best-Selling Author Marissa Meyer

  1. Meeting Marissa Meyer was so much fun! I should have thought to take a picture of the two of you together. Sorry, my brain wasn’t operating well. I think I was a little star struck. It was really nice meeting you and talking to you 🙂

    • It’s fine. We knew each other for all of 5-10 minutes – it didn’t so much as cross my mind to ask you to take a picture of us. 😉 I think this may be one of those moments in my life that I’ll always remember. I was bogged down by everyone saying things like, “There’s only one Stephen King and one JK Rowling. Chances are you won’t make it as they did” and “Out of the thousands and thousands who try to write for a living, only hundreds get published and out of those only a few make it.” UGH! She did it though. Naturally those same people will say, “There’s only one Marissa Meyer.” But still. She did it. And with her first book too! It renewed my hope that I can too. And so I told her. She is my inspiration.

      • You can too it. I get bogged down too but I try to remind myself that must people who say they are going to write a novel never write anything down. You and I both have done more than that.

        Also I’m sure Marissa Meyer felt the same way when she was writing Cinder or remember when she lost that writing contest that had only two participants?

        I also know that people respond passion. I’m passionate about my stories and I know you are too so put it on the page. I for one will read it and I’m sure there are loads more. Can’t wait to read your story 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Books are Delicious! and commented:
    I met fellow writer and awesome blogger, Kathryn St John-Shin at the Marissa Meyer signing. I’ve been meaning to post about this as well but have been swamped this week! Post coming soon!

  3. thebookheap says:

    Oh man, I’d love to go to a signing by her! Hope she comes to the UK soon! I really want a Team Cinder pin. I met Neil Gaiman last year for his Ocean at the End of the Lane tour, and he is wonderful!

    • She was beyond belief happy at being able to live her dream. I think if she was able to do signings in the UK she’d flip out. I know I would! hahaha
      That would be seriously awesome though if she went to the UK for signings. I was amazed when she said her books were being printed over there too. What an inspiration she is! She’s living the dream of all writers.

      • thebookheap says:

        Fingers crossed, its one of my favourite YA series and as far as I am aware it is selling quite well!

Leave a Reply

