End of Week Progress Report

My editing progress this past week has been slow but continual. As always, slow progress indicates fresh additions of some sort. I have a horrible feeling that at least some of these additions will prove to be poop when I go back to edit them.

Daily Progress:

  • 4/25 – 4pgs 1hr50min
  • 4/28 – 4pgs 1hr28min
  • 4/29 – 1pg (1.5 technically) 49min
  • 5/1 – 2pgs 1hr13min – ch 7 done
  • 5/2 – 11pgs 1hr15min – ch 8 done

Current Page: 118

Total Pages: 235

Total Word Count: 65,700

Minimum Desired Word Count: 80,000

So far I’ve added in 5,700 words since starting this rewrite. This project has been frustrating with word count. The MS started off with a total count of close to 90k. Then I decided to change it to Young Adult so I hacked it up till it was about 70k. Soon after I found out that’s still too long for Young Adults so I whittled it down once more to 60k. Then last Autumn I discovered New Adult and began to add in 20k.

One good thing about all of this is that every time I have to add in or take things out, the MS gets better. The only time I feel weighed down by it is when I think of the work ahead of me. It gets overwhelming so I focus on the current chapter and try not to think ahead.

As the Write on the River conference and my appointment with Andrea Hurst (literary agent from Andrea Hurst and Associates Literary Management) grows nearer, I grow more nervous. I have a lot left to rewrite and not a whole lot of time to do it in. Having it all finished before the appointment isn’t a high priority for me right now because the requirement was to have at least a 1st draft done, not a polished final draft. However, I do want to have as much done as possible in case she or one of her associates likes the idea/beginning and asks for the full MS.

Also, I want to use that last week to get a new synopsis and query ready for the appointment. I’m a terrible speaker and have difficulty giving a verbal pitch so I want to work on that especially. I don’t want her to toss me out merely because I’m a verbal moron.

On a side note, I’m putting less effort into my blogging lately because I’m focusing on my writing among other things. For the sake of my brain, I’m going to cut down my posts to once a week every Sunday. This is temporary until I’m done with this MS.

If you write, how often do you change your manuscripts before you “finish” them?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of Week Progress Report

  1. Looks like you got a lot done this week!

  2. Yeah, I was so excited and proud! And then I got together on Tuesday with a friend who recently returned from vacationing in Greece and I saw a bunch of pictures she had. Well, I haven’t written a word since. Instead I’ve been rethinking a bunch of things and doing more research on Greece so I can change certain elements. I’ve gotten a lot figured out and I’m excited to implement it all but I’m not finished thinking it out.

Leave a Reply

