A Week Spent Researching And Reading

Last Sunday I was super psyched over my MS progress but hit a wall with what I wanted to happen next in a scene. It was a fresh scene that I was adding in but hadn’t thought about so I was content to let my fingers do the thinking. This tactic usually works for me. The beginning inevitably sucks but it usually leads into something that’s good or at least passable for the time-being.

Unfortunately, while I made passable progress that I thought I could do something with later, I ran out of steam and lost the thread. Considering the excellent progress I had made, I wasn’t bothered by it. A night of rest would refresh my brain and it would come as it generally did.

Not so. I thought, “Okay, take the day off. It’s not a big deal. You can focus on reading The Forest of Hands and Teeth.”

51eRxl6mykL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_(I put up a semi-review about it on Goodreads.com. I picked up the book because it was one of my library’s book club favorites and because the title looked interesting. I can’t imagine why it was a favorite and I do not recommend it unless you enjoy reading the same mental quandaries over and over and over again. For being written in 1st person, it doesn’t give a whole lot of emotion either. That being said, it did have its exciting parts – or I would never have finished reading it – and I did cry once or twice.)

An entire week has passed without a single word being written.

Why? Because a friend of mine came back from her vacation in Greece and she had oodles of pictures to show everyone on Tuesday.

The pictures were like a slap in the face. A slap to my brain actually. It opened my eyes to what my MS was lacking. I had been searching for something in it but didn’t know what. Honestly, I didn’t even know I was searching but when I saw these pictures I knew I had been searching and I knew what for.

This last week I’ve read until my eyeballs wanted to explode and I’ve scoured the internet in search of this:

ACH008-property2 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA the001_ext1 eef1a48aa03056f0696ae9f62d45e3af greekwife72944 Marathias-beach-at-Halkidiki-from-the-Greece-in-Photos-Facebook-page

Solid gold! I have lots more pictures like these now that make my imagination whirl.

I can’t remember where I found all these photos. I used Images on Google for the water photos and some real estate sites for the villas.

I also started up a Flowers board on Pinterest for pictures of the Greek flowers I found.

I still don’t know how I’m going to finish the scene I’m stuck on but I no longer care about that. I’m currently thinking how I can change the first couple chapters to add in detail about the house Sophy’s in.

I have one week to get as much done as I can for my appointment with Andrea Hurst. I’m stressing now. I was full of confidence before but now I’m full of doubt.

Of course.

Le Sigh.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go? I totally want to go to Greece now.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Week Spent Researching And Reading

  1. YoursTruly says:

    Die, Vampiiiire, Die!

    The pics are gorgeous. I can’t say your MS rocks or not – given that I haven’t read it – but I’m sure you will kick butt at the appointment! Plus, I’ve been hearing about this story since the very beginning, and I actively want to read it. That’s usually a good sign. 🙂 Make sure to Superman pose (or Superwoman – both are power stances) for a few minutes before you get there. So exciting…and nerve-wracking – I had someone else meet with an agent for me because I couldn’t be there (I won the meeting with a contest final) but that’s the closest I’ve gotten. I know from long years of research that you should take a list of questions as convo prep…that way you don’t have to sweat it if your pitch falls out of your mouth like a clutzy teenager in front of a crush. Break a leg!

    • I forgot to write questions beforehand but it turned out that I didn’t need to. Andrea Hurst cancelled because she was sick but Gordon Warnock from Foreword Literary came instead. I think I talked too much and gave too much detail but it didn’t seem to count against me because his face/eyes lit up in some parts and he referred me to one of his associates. She’s closed to unsolicited submissions but he assured me she won’t trash my e-mail if I put his name in the subject line. hehe I got good feedback, both positive and helpful. Now I just have to figure out if I should e-mail his associate now while I still have details to add and polishing to do (he knew all of that when he gave me the referral) or wait till I’m 100% done. Normally I’d wait but he did know my situation and background with the MS when he gave me that referral… Difficult.

Leave a Reply

