I’m Going to Finish!

I’m going to take an unfamiliar moment of vanity and egotism and say,

I ROCK!!

f5f26d0092ab6defcd54f590193eb32e

The week before the conference I was so busy getting ready for the conference that I didn’t get much writing done.

  • 5/13 – 7 pgs – 1hr48min – CH 10 DONE
  • 5/15 – overall edit of 1st 10 chapters – about 2-3hrs
  • 5/15 – 2 Queries written

This last week was different.

  • 5/19 – 1 Query written
  • 5/20 – 25 pgs – 5hr25min – CH 11 & 12 DONE
  • 5/21 – 15 pgs – 3hr29min – CH 13 DONE
  • 5/22 – 18 pgs – 2hr45min – CH 14 DONE
  • 5/23 – 14 pgs – 2hr12min – CH 15 DONE

314f0902f6d7d316e526230a4af2e1bf

In the past when I’ve had a lot of progress, it’s because I didn’t need to change a whole lot. That’s not true this time. Most of my progress wasn’t fast. Instead I worked in increments multiple times a day

It was like a lightning bolt hit my brain (how cliché) on Monday. I spent a lot of time writing that query to the agent whom Mr. Warnock referred me. My MS isn’t 100% completed anymore and far from polished because I’ve added so many new scenes. How could I send her a query with an incomplete MS? She’d tell herself I’d be a waste of time because I’m new and unproven and trash it.

People might argue saying I have finished it before and if I promised her to finish it again by a certain date, she might trust me.

I asked myself, “Why should she trust me? What if I didn’t pull my weight? Her time would have been wasted.”

It’s practical business sense. Nothing personal.

Another worry to think about was that I’d be visiting my family in Colorado and they were filling up all my vacation time so I wouldn’t have time to write to get my MS finished by the time I wanted to tell the agent.

When I told this worry to my husband, he said the solution was easy – finish it before I left and submit it then.

At first I balked. How could I explain to him that my creating something from nothing was different from the scientific papers he writes? I tried once or twice in my head but they sounded like childish excuses so I kept my mouth shut and decided it was worth a shot.

ebd700e0504c198a4ca38d7af95e9d00

There were times it was slow going and I have a sneaky suspicion at least some of the new stuff is stinky poop.  At other times inspiration hit from various places/people and I went with it. I seriously enjoyed writing those parts so I hope they worked.

eefa2a56fdd15a3016c632e215a64233

3 chapters left (unless I add in a 4th) and then I get to go back and polish it. I guess finishing my MS before the end of June wasn’t as impossible as I thought.

How is your writing coming along? Powering through it or slogging through it?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Going to Finish!

  1. YoursTruly says:

    Woohoo! Go you!! 😀 Here’s to plugging away!

  2. Congrats! Keep it up, darling!!! ❤ xoxo

Leave a Reply

