A Light Bulb Moment

I was always daydreaming when I was growing up (still do in fact but now for entirely different reasons) and when my friends would call me back to order, I’d have a time catching up in the conversation. When I did, they said it was like a light bulb going off above my head like in a cartoon. When I was caught daydreaming they’d say, “Light bulb? What light bulb?”

(Shout out to you, HL Henrikson!)

Maybe it sounds mean but they didn’t mean it that way and I never took it that way. Those are some of my most endearing memories actually and over 10 years later I still think in terms of “Light bulb? What light bulb?”

I love those light bulb moments when I’m writing. It’s like a flash and BAM! The secrets of the universe (my universe anyway) are revealed to me! It’s exhilarating.

a16127782ea16ffc0e0f787539a8f589

I’m delving into the sequel to my MS, Night’s Treasure, and trying to figure out what’s going to happen. But, since it revolves around Greek Mythology, I can’t do that on my own (have you tried to remember every single detail about Greek Mythology? HA! I know a lot but not nearly everything) so I’m back in the researching stage. Looking up deities and places and such, searching through the labyrinth of details. What can I use? How should I use it?

Thank goodness for pbskids.org. My son can be happily occupied in the computer next to mine at the library while I look up gads of information to save and peruse at my leisure later.

Hands up for Dinosaur Train, Thomas the Tank Engine, and Super Why! WOO!

So as I’m looking up information I find a tidbit and

images1

Makes my skin tingle! It’s awesome when I uncover part of the story. Makes me want to sing Darth Maul’s Awesome song from Lego Star Wars Empire Strikes Out. It’s super easy to learn – you only have to say “Awesome” a bunch of times in tune with the Darth Maul theme song.

Yes, not only am I a Star Wars fan (not so much the prequel trilogy as the original trilogy though I do really like the CGI Clone Wars), I’m also a Lego fan. Do I rock or what!

As my son would say, “What.”

What kind of things have caused the light bulb moment so far? Hmm… Here are some tidbits:

  • Keres

  • Ares/Aphrodite/Hephaestus triangle

  • Hermes

Most of those names are familiar to most people but who/what on earth are the Keres?

N10.1Ker

The Keres (singular – Ker) are female death spirits. They sound a lot like ancient Greek vampires. And this before the onslaught of Bram Stoker no less. Awesome! The Keres are daughters of Nyx (goddess of night) and are described as “dark beings with gnashing teeth and claws and with a thirst for human blood. They would hover over the battlefield and search for dying and wounded men.”

The black Dooms gnashing their white teeth, grim-eyed, fierce, bloody, terrifying fought over the men who were dying for they were all longing to drink dark blood. As soon as they caught a man who had fallen or one newly wounded, one of them clasped her great claws around him and his soul went down to Hades, to chilly Tartarus. And when they had satisfied their hearts with human blood, they would throw that one behind them and rush back again into the battle and the tumult.” (Shield of Heracles – 248-57)

Information from Wikipedia.

Awesome, huh.

As much as I dislike feeding the vampire fad (and me being a vampire lover since childhood, huh, go figure), since the Keres are from Ancient Greek Mythology and therefore came loooooooooong before Transylvanian/Romanian/etc superstitions, I’m keeping this on my list of things I might play with in my story.

A mention of the keres was originally in the first book but I ended up taking it out during one of the rewrites. I never forgot them, however, and still want to use them. I just don’t know how yet.

What Greek Mythological deity/etc would you want to read about?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Light Bulb Moment

  1. YoursTruly says:

    Hehehe. Every now and then, I think it, too!

    Are you done-done with Night’s Treasure now? Have it out on submission? Querying? Agents? Editors? Fun stuff! Good for you for hopping straight into the sequel, too. I don’t think I could do that – I’d need a break from the world/characters. Seven months after releasing my novella, I’m *almost* ready to get back to the characters for the first novel. Hee. But then, I’ve had other things going on in the interim and wasn’t intending to write the novel for a while. Still, I definitely need a break between similar projects! Even though it makes more sense to my brain that writing the sequel without switching worlds would make it easier to remember everything. 🙂

    I’d love to read a good Demeter story. Or Hestia. Something with kick-ass Hestial virgins. Or any of the lesser-known deities. Everybody uses the main Olympians, and that gets boring after a while.

    • I am done with Night’s Treasure and it’s out in the world once more. I decided to stick with sending it to the one agent this time because I was given a referral. Of course, this means I’ll have to wait a ton of time for only one agent to get back to me but maybe she’ll have good news and it’ll be worth it? I’m not wasting (all of) my time though. As you know I’m using the wait to do research for the sequel. Working title is NT2 for lack of something better. 😉 hehehe

      I have some ideas but it’s nowhere near complete and I don’t have nearly enough information for some of the stuff I want to add so I can’t start writing for awhile yet. It’s fun thinking of different gods and locations. It’s also a bit of a pain in the butt because I’m excited to use this new stuff but I’m not entirely sure how to do it yet so I get frustrated. I need to quell my impatience and breathe.

      Because I’ll be working with an agent, I want the entire project as complete as possible so I’m not stuck with a 2-book deal and only 1 finished book. I want to be professional and get the 2nd done in good time. My sister has had to put up with one author who was doing a quartet but didn’t get the final book out for many years after the 3rd was published. Sarah was super…not happy we’ll say. 😉

      Diving into this new book is almost like diving into a new world too as opposed to going back to the old one. True, it wouldn’t be the same with your books because you literally have to go back to the same world whereas I get to use different locations and different characters so it’s like mine’s brand new. 😉 Muwhahahaha!!! I’m excited. I’d love to say more but I can’t here and even if I did so in private there’d be huge spoiler alerts. Keep your fingers crossed that I get an agent quick! 😉 hehehe

Leave a Reply

