Back From Seattle

My husband went to Seattle last week for a conference and my son and I tagged along for a “vacation.”

Translation: super awesome vacation for my son and exhausting work for me

You’d think we did a ton for how tired I was at the end of each day but we didn’t do a whole lot. Monday was taken up with driving and with some wandering around downtown looking for a place where all 3 of us could eat. We stopped off briefly at the Barnes & Noble across the street before calling it a night. Tuesday and Wednesday my husband had his conference so I was on my own with my son. Here’s a breakdown of what we did:

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Starbucks where I amused myself people watching – saw 2 women in Middle Eastern garb and veil with eye holes in their veils so they could see.

Seattle Aquarium – Saw 3 crows gang up to attack a sparrow midair; they captured it, pinned it to a roof and pecked it to death. It was like The Birds come to life – slow and vicious. The fish, seals, octopus, otters, etc were nice but I had one heckuva time keeping an eye on my son because there were a couple school groups (or summer camp whatever) and a ton of Chinese tourists. I think they were on a tour because they all had some kind of tag pinned on them. It got easier when we got past the front with the jelly fish and the octopus.

2014-06-23 22.48.33

The octopus was disappointingly still that day. And we could only find one as opposed to the 2 or 3 we saw last time. I was really excited to see the giant octopus again. Bad timing I guess. Oh well.

2014-06-23 22.56.15

(It’s Nemo and his daddy!)

Lunch: Aquarium Café

Great Wheel – Nice view. My son was the one who’s been begging to go on it since he saw it on our last trip to Seattle some months ago.

2014-06-24 01.05.18 2014-06-24 01.05.42

Arcade – Went on the carousel and played some arcade games. A dad who was leaving gave us all of his daughter’s tickets because she decided she didn’t want them. Awesome! Mini Me got 3 small toys – his favorite (though he didn’t want it at the time because he didn’t know what it was) was the backscratcher.

2014-06-24 01.27.12

Snack-ish: Hubby joined us and we stuffed our faces with snow crab legs. Yum! I very much enjoyed bashing the shells with the mallet. Muwhahahaha!!

Dinner: McDonald’s for Mini Me and Chipotle for me. Yay for Chipotle! Our town doesn’t have it and I’ve been missing it.

Weather was nice. Chilly and overcast in the morning when we got going around 9am but got muggy and sunny in the afternoon. Very enjoyable!

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Starbucks for more people watching.

Took Monorail to get to Space Needle and Children’s Museum. Mini Me was super excited!

Space Needle – Went there because Mini Me voted for it. Secondary reason is because whenever I say I’ve been to Seattle, people only ever ask about the Space Needle. Have I been on it, how’s the view, etc. When I say I haven’t tried it, they get all disappointed and act like I missed out on something super special. The view is nice, but really whatever. However, Mini Me loved it. He loves the skyscrapers and was SO excited to be staying in a hotel that was like a skyscraper and go to the Space Needle because it soared above the skyscrapers.

2014-06-24 22.32.22

Children’s Museum – Went there purely for Mini Me to play to his heart’s content. And play he did. I was starving by the time I was able to drag him away to the upstairs food court.

Lunch: Grill in Food Court above Children’s Museum. Watched Fifa on TV while eating there.

Took Monorail back to hotel to drop off some stuff before heading to Barnes & Noble. Hubby’s conference was done for the afternoon and housekeeping chose that time to come so he tagged along to the bookstore.

Dinner: McDonald’s for my son, Chipotle for my husband and I.

2014-06-25 09.20.43

(view from outside one of our hotel windows)

We left Thursday for brunch and Korean grocery shopping at the H-Mart south of SeaTac, then went on our merry way home.

I was sooooo ready for a night without the turdlet. It was pure heaven!

What kinds of things do you do when you go on vacation?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back From Seattle

  1. It seems like you kido had a wonderful vacation indeed! It was a sad reminder to me that I’ve never been to a big Aquarium like that, I’ve got to fix that hahah! When I travel, I love to explore. If I’m not dead tired by the end of a day, I didn’t do enough 🙂 xoxo

  2. Ray St John says:

    When I go on vacation I like to eat at unusual cafes and greasy spoon type places; I like to visit national parks and pour over their topographical maps and displays of animals; I like to get home and sleep late again, like I do every other day of my retired life (except when I get up early to watch car shows on TV).

Leave a Reply

