Lovely Vacation

I’m running off of low power right now. It’s not my computer nor my internet nor anything to do with electronics. It’s lack of sleep.

My sister bought the movie The Conjuring awhile back but didn’t have the guts to watch it until she had lots of people to watch it with…which was last night. It was on my Netflix queue but I hadn’t seen it yet. Honestly, I was worried it was going to be trash as so many horror movies are these last few years (especially the ones dealing with possession and such).

I was very wrong.

image

I don’t know if I’m out of practice with horror movies because I haven’t watched any in forever (my son’s always around and when he’s not, my husband’s around and he hates horror movies) or if the movie really was just that scary. In either case, I was terrified when I went to bed and I had nightmares all night long about demons coming to kill/possess my son who was sleeping next to me in bed. When I wasn’t waking up from nightmares, my son was kicking me in his sleep. Add to that the fact that it was hot in the room despite an open window (usually pretty cold at midnight with a window open but not last night) and I slept VERY badly.

Ugh.

I think if I had been alone I wouldn’t have been so scared but I kept dreaming the demon would kill my son or, just as bad, possess him and he’d kill me!

image

What a night. It was based off of a true story, but of course we know that a lot of it was made up. I hear there’s a book about it all. I’m going to see if I can find it.

image

We’re having a BBQ this afternoon to celebrate a number of things:

  1. Belated Morfar’s b-day (July 2nd)
  2. Early 4th of July (July 4th…duh)
  3. On-time son’s b-day (July 3rd)

Afterwards I won’t have internet access for about a week so you can consider this an early Sunday post.

Like horror movies? Have any weekend plans?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

