Making Progress on NT2

Got critiques on NT from my dad, mom, and uncle on this vacation. Most people wouldn’t take family critiques seriously but I do. Especially with my uncle because he’s really not the type to be biased…at least with me. My parents are a bit biased I think but when they gush over it, it makes me feel good. They gave comments that are helpful too. Also, my dad is part of my target audience (he’s 71 with the brain of a 17-29-year-old girl).

There are a few changes I need to make to my MS, mostly grammatical and none I think in the beginning pages. I’ll get that done perhaps later in the week or possibly early next week. It’s not like I’m on a deadline or anything. Still playing the waiting game with that one agent. I didn’t tell her in my query letter that I was sending it out to any other agents because I wasn’t at the time so I don’t want to send it out to others till I hear back from her.

In the meantime I’m making a lot of progress with research and ideas for NT2. It’s slowly coming together. Pretty much all of the details are missing but the big stuff is coming together. Pieces are materializing the more I research and the puzzle image is getting clearer by the day.

image

(It bugs me to no end that the grammar in the quote is wrong, but it’s true – I write what I want to write.)

So what new Greek dieties can we expect in this next installment?

  • The Erinyes
  • The Keres
  • Hecate

Those are the new ones I’ve made a place for so far. I have some ideas that I want to happen but I’m as yet unsure of how they should happen and who would be best for them.

Here’s a dance that I’ve been salivating over for years now. If I can’t find a way to make it fit this time (and I desperately want to), I’ll keep it in my arsenal for a later story.

And another…

For more information on Greek mythology, you can go to www.theoi.com or Wikipedia.org. Both sites are very informative though I think, on the whole, Theoi.com has more to offer and the information is easier to find there.

What’s your favorite Greek deity?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing Endeavors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Progress on NT2

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    Oooh. I’ve never seen Egyptian style before. That’s awesome! I can’t imagine the strength she’s gotta have to keep her steps so tightly controlled. Someday… 😀

    I can’t believe your dad is 71! Though I can totally believe he’s your target demographic. ::snicker::

    I am absolutely a follower of Artemis…except for that whole celibate virgin thing. That’s kind of a bummer. Love Demeter, too, though she’s usually only referenced in Persephone’s story in most media nowadays. I’m excited you’re adding Hecate – I’ve seen a lot of different takes on her, and I’d love to see what choices you make with her personality. 😀 Hm…have you written her into something before? I feel like I’ve read a non-published Hecate story before…

    • Egyptian style is totally gorgeous!!! At least, Sohaila’s dances are. She reminds me of a snake in this dance. A beautiful, undulating snake.

      I have never written about Hecate before. I’ve never been interested in her before actually. But she fits so perfectly in with everything in the 2nd book that it’d be insane not to have her. She’s perfect! I still have yet to figure out how I want to portray her but the image is coming together. I’m nearly done with my vague plotting style and am itching to start writing again. Woo!

Leave a Reply

