Weekend Writing Warriors #2

wewriwa

The second 8-sentence snippet from Night’s Treasure for your reading pleasure.

If you want to read other writer’s work, meet those writers, or participate yourself stop on by Weekend Writing Warriors. Every week writers get together here to share their work, published or unpublished.

– Night’s Treasure

“I didn’t realize my . . . friends as you call them . . . were being so indiscreet as to let you view their movements.”

She didn’t dare confess that she had been outside the first night and had nearly run into his followers entering the woods to bury their victim. Nor did she deem it wise to tell him she had spied on them since then from windows overlooking the garden at the back of the house. Instead she lowered her eyes to the floor and clasped her hands in front of her.

“Yes,” Leuco admitted after a long pause. “We have been making sacrifices to Thanatos.”

“And tonight is my turn? You’ll sacrifice me next?”

– End Snippet #2 –

I’ll be changing my Sunday writing post to Saturday from now on so I can get this in on time (my normal Sunday posting time falls too close to the WeWriWa deadline for my comfort). It doesn’t seem necessary to post this Saturday and then immediately post something else the next day.

Also, because life is beginning to return to normal (minus all the nasty smoke from the fires…again), I’ll be adding in my mid-week posts once more.

Hope everyone enjoyed snippet #2 from Night’s Treasure!

What writing group(s) do you like?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors #2

  1. Oooh, love this. That last line is great. The conflict here is good, and the visual. Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  2. Wow! That last is a zinger! What a hook. Reeled me right into the story. Nicely done! 🙂

  3. burnsmillie says:

    Crap, did they catch her? She’s in for a world of hurt. How’s she gonna save herself? More questions…always a good thing. Glad you came back this week!

    • hehehe Thanks. She is in for a world of hurt. Maybe she doesn’t save herself. Maybe she dies and the story continues in the Underworld.

      lol Sorry. That doesn’t happen, but now that I’ve said it, it sounds interesting…

  4. O.O That was great and suspenseful! It was well written too ^^ I would have liked to have seen a bit of a description as she said that last line. But I don’t know what comes after it. Reading this as is, I’m pretty freaked out but the protagonist seems okay with everything. Or maybe she’s apathetic? Everything else was great 🙂 Anyway, I hope next week is a continuation of this 😀

  5. chellecordero says:

    That last line was a real kicker, omigosh, I would definitely be … well, embarrassing myself… Good snippet.

  6. Wow, that was quite the excerpt! So much at stake, many intriguing questions raised, can’t wait for more! Great 8…

Leave a Reply

