Wanting to Kill Computer

I sat down the other day to start writing my brand new MS NT2. Before anything else I wanted to have the correct format so I wouldn’t have to worry about it later.

I hate formatting because it’s been over a decade since I last took a computer course and my writing program on my last laptop was some funky cheapie thing that vaguely resembled Word. Word has changed SOOOOO much since I’ve last used it. I’ve had my new laptop for perhaps half a year and I still don’t fully know how to use this newer version of Word. It’s not even the newest! It’s a 2010 version that my husband had.

But! I somehow managed to figure out most features on Word so I thought, “I can figure this out too.” I mean, it’s not as if I haven’t formatted a document before. Pfft.

20 minutes later this is how I felt:

image

So much for my confidence in my formatting skills. Everything was fine until I had to put in a header and page number. I couldn’t seem to add a header on the left with Last Name/Title and then add a page number on the right. Whenever I tried it would erase the previous addition (whether it was the header or the page number).

Many animalistic noises were issuing from my bedroom and they weren’t the fun kind.

I ended up plugging in the page number on the left then sticking in my name/title before that and separating the two with tabs. I think my high school computer teacher would say I cheated but agents aren’t going to check to see how I achieved the result so long as the result is correct.

By the time I was done I had lost all desire and energy to actually write.

Wonderful.

I think I really need that computer class at the library in the Fall.

Do you fight with your writing program?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanting to Kill Computer

  1. I felt the same way when I had first gotten my MAC. Now, it’s all I ever want, lol.

  2. ShadowDancer says:

    I’m actually just finishing up a class in Office 2010. The differences in design are HUGE!
    It’s been so long since I bothered with manuscript format that you’ve brought back fond memories of all my previous projects. ^_^ Of adding all the headings and everything right off the bat to convince my brain I wasn’t staring at a blank page. Hee.
    Good luck with NT2! I’m excited for you – beginnings are always fun! (And daunting…but we’re focusing on fun right now!)

    • Yeeeaaaah, beginnings are fun…More daunting in this case though. I think I’ve been enjoying the whole writing process with these two manuscripts. They both have their ups and downs (even though I’m only about 2k words into this new one I’m already experiencing ups and downs hehe) but, all in all, I’m really enjoying them.

Leave a Reply

