Books vs TV and The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

The last couple days I’ve been reading The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. I enjoyed the movie and the book was on the BBC 100 Book List I’m going by so I went for it.

Well, I don’t know if the movie just made a huge departure from the book or if it picked up incidents from other books (because Mis has a whole series of books chronicling her awkwardness) but, while the movie was similar it was also very very different.

I don’t hold that against the movie (or the book for that matter). Both were good in their own right and I giggled pretty often during the book. It was such a nice departure from dystopian angst and danger and love triangles that you find in popular YA books now.

Actually, the moment I started reading The Princess Diaries, I kept wanting to stop and watch the movie. The same thing happened when I was reading The Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne. Except in that case I did watch the movie whilst in the middle of the book. My son loved it! This would be the version with Brendan Frasier. I don’t care how cheesy it can be, I still really liked it.

However, because The Princess Diaries is so short, I fought the urge to watch the movie until I was done. Of course, when I finished it was time for bed. Hmph.

I can see why Stephen King says to throw your TV set out. He has his own reasons of course, but mine would be that there just aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything else done AND watch everything I want to see. Because Divergent is waiting for me from Netflix too but I’ve been holding off on that as well for various reasons.

Le Sigh.

It really is easier to find time to read than to watch TV, although it used to be a lot easier when I was single and had no job. Ah the days of summer vacation when I was a teenager!

Would you skip movies to read?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

