Happily Querying Along

I’m sorry, did that say “happily”? Hmm…

While it was exciting at first to be getting queries ready once more, after perusing about 20 agencies listed in the 2014 Guide to Literary Agents and highlighting and writing down about a dozen, I felt like my eyes were burning.

Hours later after jotting down more agencies and writing up 3 separate queries, I thought my eyes would pop out of their sockets.

Day 2: looking up info on aforementioned agencies, choosing agents, and writing up another 6 queries. I am so done. Man are my eyes TIRED!

Naturally, one of the most promising agents I found the first day and wrote a query for turned out to be closed to submissions when I looked him up on his agency’s website the next day. Dang it. Hate it when that happens. GRR!!

I don’t suppose he’d make an exception and read a sample of my work if I mentioned his name here and said my manuscript was right up his alley? Probably not…

I did, however, discover a helpful blog from agent Marisa Corsiviera – Thoughts From A Literary Agent. Very helpful with queries and sending submissions to that agency. I’d recommend checking it out when you have the time. Ms. Corsiviera is the founder of the Corsiviero Literary Agency and is also the Senior Agent there.

Are you trying to query agents right now/soon/in the past? How many queries did you send out?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happily Querying Along

  1. I’m just writing short stories for now, and will submit them to literary magazines, but it’s nothing like submitting a novel to an agent. I’ve heard of places that can help you with your query, like forums. It sounds really mentally exhausting. It appears to be something almost every writer struggles with. Not looking forward to it someday XD Good luck!

    • Yeah, I submitted short stories to magazines last year and it was much simpler than querying agents for my novel. I even got a couple of them published which made me super happy of course. Woo!

      This is my 2nd go at sending queries out. I learned a lot from my first attempt. Luckily I didn’t go through many agents before I figured out what my biggest problem was. So I stopped for awhile to fix my manuscript, query, and synopsis. Now that that’s done I’ve started sending out queries again. I’ll be going through a couple rounds of this before I stop again. If all I’m getting is rejections, I’ll have to go back and see what I’m doing wrong, fix it, and start again. It’s all good. I’m always hopeful and optimistic that this next group of agents will produce a winner. πŸ˜‰ hehe

      Writer’s Digest (website, books, magazine) is super helpful. I scoured the internet when I first started. Found a lot of great advice and helpful examples. The hardest part for me is how to personalize each query to each agent. I thiiiiiink my latest query is good though. :/

      • Congrats on the short story publications πŸ˜€ I’ve read a few articles from Writer’s Digest. They are usually very helpful! I think you are going about the querying in the right way. Once your query is rejected you can’t really resubmit to that same agent, at least that was my understanding. I think I will use your approach when I end up querying, which might not be for a while since I haven’t even started XD

        Anyway, I’m hoping this next round of querying results in you landing an agent! I’m the eternal optimist as well. I hope for the best and plan for the worst. I think that still qualifies as optimism, maybe :$

      • I think it qualifies as optimism. You’re being realistic by preparing for the worst but you’re still hoping for the best. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

