When You Feel Sleepy

It’s not often that my posts in my two blogs (Writing World and Fitness Freak) will correspond to each other… actually I don’t think it’s ever happened in the past… but that’s what happening today.

I was looking through pictures I have saved for potential use on my blogs because I was showing my dad what studies are now showing concerning the effects of coffee/caffeine intake. We found some infographics about sleep.

What does that have to do with writing? Well, I also had this…

b3411f814b293e50bf124bee271c2a5c

I think most people I know would be able to answer this question. Goodness, anyone who’s been a college student (and many high school students) will know how to accurately portray a sleep-deprived character.

We’ve all been there. The feeling is awful. Eyes burn, there’s a black hole in your chest that no amount of yawning can fill up, nerves feel dull, brain activity is anywhere from slow to flatlined, attention span is near nonexistent, reflexes are slower, etc.

de0006cabe04b185d0c54c63d6e635cd

The few times I’ve been hit by insomnia, I’ve been able to sympathize with suicides. I feel like I’m going crazy and I would have a strong urge to sit against a wall and methodically thump my head against a wall (like what I saw in a House episode years ago).

Have you ever been attacked by insomnia?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

