Torrent of New Ideas

What do you do when you’re suddenly bombarded by new story ideas? Let me describe this lovely problem better: I’m fighting my way (unsuccessfully) through the beginning of my sequel novel NT2 when I suddenly get an idea on how to make Night’s Treasure, the first book, better. I go out to a park with my family for some family time when this idea blossoms.

My husband followed Mini Me around with a camera so I had a chance to jot down what was being revealed to me until we left the playground to go for a walk. Toward the end of the walk, 2 new ideas for completely unrelated short stories struck me. I had to be careful not to forget them as I couldn’t jot them down until later.

344c72329cf776e3e295bb0b9400c0ca

Then during dinner about 15 minutes later, another idea burned my brain! A series of novellas related to my Greek mythology books. They would include stories about Psyche, Arachne, and Persephone. That’s as far as I got.

All I could think about when I took a shower later was how I would write the Psyche story.

I know I should stick with NT2 until I finish it and I should wait awhile (for replies) before changing Night’s Treasure again. I’m the type who never gets anything done if I jump around to different projects.

Oh but I so want to start writing on some of this stuff!

f348ba7704b825133ea4027fc2d5d3d6

The short stories are totally doable because short stories don’t take all that long (never more than a week with all the editing etc) so at least I can do something with those 2. It’s a small consolation because it’s the novellas that are pulling me the hardest, but it’s better than nothing.

Would you stick to your current project or would you switch according to your “muse”?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Torrent of New Ideas

  1. That’s awesome 😀 I’ve had several story ideas come to me as well, but it takes me a long time to edit a short story. That suicide one took about a week to write, about two months to edit XD I’m trying to aim for a month to write and edit. It will be a long time before I write another non-linear story. I enjoyed writing it, but it’s past the peak of my writing ability, so it’s taken a lot out of me to get it right, and to connect all of the pieces. Hopefully the next one doesn’t take as long. If it only takes you a week to write, I would just do it 🙂

    • hehe Oh it takes a lot longer for me to finish a short story than just a week. The editing time always varies of course and some stories are longer or shorter than others. I wrote one that I was told would make a better novella than short story. I haven’t touched that one since though I still on it from time to time. Didn’t even bother to edit it. That one was a jump into the unknown to try something I’m not used to – sci-fi. I wasn’t going to kill my brain figuring out how to write a believable sci-fi novella. Too difficult at this period. Usually I take about a week to write a short story and then another week or two to edit it. It doesn’t take long in the scheme of things, it’s true, but the potential novella caught my fancy the most so I’m tearing up my keyboard working on that. I’m happy with how it looks so far. I hope I can do something with it later rather than writing it for my own enjoyment (although I’m so used to that by now that that’s fine too 😉 ). I try to be insanely optimistic with my writing career so I like to think that when I’m rich and famous (raucous laughter), I’ll be able to go back to these novellas and publishers will be clamoring for them then. LOL The thought makes me laugh; it’s so absurd. But a tiny part of me is serious too. 😉

      • I think it’s good to be optimistic 🙂 There are so many people in the world that will try to tear you down. You have to be an advocate for yourself and your writing. This is something I’m working on :$ I have a bad habit of bashing myself. I’m trying not to do so much of that :$

        One of my short story ideas is too big for a short story. I might make a novella out of it. I don’t know that it’s enough for a novel. I would think a novella would be easier to pitch to publishers because they aren’t taking as much of a risk, but I don’t know. I haven’t really looked into it much.

      • From what I’ve heard novellas are hard to sell because they don’t fit the word count requirements of either a novel or a short story. I guess it’s just difficult to sell something as a book when it’s shorter than a book. Unless it’s e-published. I could see that as being a good bet.

  2. ShadowDancer says:

    I both love and hate those periods of extreme creativity. On the one hand – ideas! Excitement! Falling excitedly in love with new ideas! What’s not to love about that? Except on the other hand, they always pull focus. Good for you if you manage to keep up the other works you have going on at the same time! I need more self-discipline still. 😛

    But yay for new ideas! 😀

    • Old projects always get pushed to the side in cases like this. But I’m hoping the Greek mythology doesn’t get pushed aside for too long. I was hoping going through one novella would help give my brain a rest and come back refreshed to that. It doesn’t seem to be going anywhere anyway and until the first book takes, the second isn’t going to be horse poop. 😉

Leave a Reply

