Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

image

I just finished Clockwork Angel (Book 1 of The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare, author of young adult series The Mortal Instruments.

Two words:

Ooooooooo! Gooooood!

There were cliches here and there but I’m not one to nit-pick when they don’t hurt the story. I’m not sure if I would’ve noticed them had I not been looking for them, but I was looking for them sooooo…

I hoped to read this book for enjoyment but I’ve come across too many books set in the Victorian Era and before that have royally failed to please me. Instead of reading purely for enjoyment, I read with criticism ready.

And I found little to criticize.

Yay!

It focused less on the Victorian Era and more on the fantastical elements of the story which was probably a very good move. For me it was more like Clare had added realistic elements to a fantasy world rather than fantasy elements to a realistic world.

While I won’t be searching for warlocks or Nephilim in the streets, I was happy to emerse myself in their world. And it was a quick, easy read. Yay! My eyes and imagination were very happy.

Have you read anything by Cassandra Clare? Care to share what you thought of it?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

