“Gloomy Days” Does Not Equal “Bad Days”

I’m not a morning person but I try to make the best of any situation and if I have to be up with the sun, so be it.

image

Looking out at the world at 7am though, I did NOT like what I saw.image

Despite this gloomy day (and the past days this week have been similarly rainy though not so gloomy), I have had an AWESOME morning! In fact, every day this week has been stupendous…with my writing.

I came to a point in NT2 where I had no idea what to write. It’s been this way for about the 1st 8k words actually. Then lightning hit my imagination and everything took off! For the first time in this poop story, I have direction. I knew Sophy’s story wouldn’t be done with the first book but I wasn’t sure what trials to put her through with the 2nd. I had some details but no way to get to them and no real action or conclusion after them.

Now I do and that feels AWESOME!

image

Writing every day is getting easier too. In the beginning I’d sit staring at the screen with nothing coming. Maybe I’d get 300 words written in my allotted 30 minutes. Now I easily sit for 1-2 hours and crank out over 1k words each time.

image

It’s a wonderful feeling. Not all of it is good of course but it’s tons better than I was writing before. Woo!

Does gloomy weather make you feel gloomy?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Gloomy Days” Does Not Equal “Bad Days”

  1. I don’t feel necessarily gloomy if the weather is, but it’s certainly a different kind of atmosphere that’s on the inside. Same with sunny weather – just because it’s cheery outside doesn’t always mean it’s what’s getting written. Some of my darkest stuff is written in pure daylight. :]

  2. Wendy Murphy says:

    Hi Katie,
    What you were looking at was amazingly beautiful. Rain droplets suspended on a bare branch laced with spider webs; blurred forest path in the background. Brought back memories of camping with our 3 girls when they were growing up!
    I got a different perspective on “gloomy weather” a few years ago while hiking with my youngest daughter and a friend of hers who LOVED rain. She was so excited to be in the forest while it was raining and pointed out all the beautiful elements of it to us as we hiked. By the time we got back to the car I was soaked. (I don’t own a truly waterproof raincoat!). I will never forget that hike hearing those 2 girls laughing and running through the rain!
    Wendy

    • I wish I could take credit for that picture. I tried taking pictures of the gloomy weather in my town that day but none of the pictures were coming out for some reason. I was using my phone and it’s pretty old so it gets glitchy sometimes. I guess it decided it didn’t like the pictures I was taking with it. hehe I found that picture of the tree branch on Pinterest I think it was and loved it so I used that instead.

      I’ve always loved the rain. As a little kid I’d run around in it and have fun. As a teenager/early 20s I loved the feel of it, like it was cleansing. Now I love it because it’s refreshing and it’s great for snuggling up in blankets, drinking some kind of hot drink, and reading. But really gloomy weather is perfect because it inspires me and feels me with a gleeful delight. I love horror and it’s the perfect setting for horror stories. 😉 lol

Leave a Reply

