Weekend Writing Warriors #7

image

This 8-sentence snippet is another from my published short story entitled Rapunzel. If you’re interested in reading the whole thing, you can find it in DM du Jour, a blog associated with the online magazine Danse Macabre.

If you’re interested in posting a snippet of your own story yourself or want to read things that other people have written, mosey on over to Weekend Writing Warriors. Every week they have a new sign-up sheet for people interested in showing their work to the world.

– 8-sentence snippet of Rapunzel

“My lady, I am Prince Rollin, defender of maidenly virtue and destroyer of witches.” He stared in rapture at her beauty. She kept her head tilted from him so he could only glimpse the side of her face which was partially shielded by her hair. “We will leave this accursed tower and you shall be my wife. You will never want for anything, my love, for you have but to ask and it will be yours.”

“You pledge your love to me?” she asked, her speaking voice as stunning to hear as her singing. His vow was enthusiastic. “You pledge your life to me and my happiness?”

– End Snippet –

8d72c4ad3fe3e3f39c0e01d8bb8cf319

I wanted to do 3 snippets but since this short story is only 3 pages long, I’m sticking with 2 snippets. I mean, why bother getting anything published if I put the majority of it here?

If the last 8-sentence snippet wasn’t enticing enough, then hopefully this caught your interest. The link to the published full work at DM du Jour is given above in the beginning of this post.

Happy reading!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Weekend Writing Warriors, Writing Endeavors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors #7

  1. Elsa Holland says:

    Oh this is going to be a great read. I love it already!

  2. burnsmillie says:

    Uh oh…makes me wonder what she’s hiding behind her hair.

  3. I’m with Millie, this leaves me thinking there’s a catch or a trap or something LOL. Very effective excerpt!

  4. K. (@ScrivK) says:

    Haha… Defender of maidenly virtue and destroyer of witches, love that line!

Leave a Reply

