Vengeance Is A Dish Best Served Cold

If you hadn’t guessed it from my 1-2 week-long absence, I’ve been temporarily out of action. At first it was because I had nothing to say and then it was because I forgot…and still had nothing to say.

I haven’t been writing all that much for 2 reasons:

  1. I wasn’t sure how to continue.
  2. I had to research the rivers in the Greek Underworld because it occured to me that the last part of what I wrote was completely wrong.

So it really didn’t matter that I wasn’t sure how to proceed because what I last wrote was wrong anyhow. Well, after 1-2 weeks of confusing research I was able to piece together a vague picture of how the rivers worked…more or less.

Agatha-Christie-And-Then-There-Were-None-1It took so long because I prefered to spend my free time reading for fun. One book was And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. I liked it. It kept me guessing. I was able to get a little payback at the end too. My husband likes Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Ms. Marple stories. He’s really into detective stories and likes Sherlock Holmes as well. So I gave him the general layout of what was going on in the story. He asked me who did it but I had reached the end of the book and still didn’t know, so I read him the last few chapters including the final confession of the killer.

65502_backAs I’m reading the confession, though it hasn’t given a name I know who did it because each character’s job was distinct from each other’s and the killer’s job is eluded to (not subtly) in the confession. However, because my husband hadn’t read the book and I threw a lot of details at him (most of which I’m sure he didn’t retain as it was in English and that’s a second language for him), he still didn’t know who the killer was.

He HATES waiting to find out what happens and will always ask how things end if he thinks I know the ending. Most of the time this isn’t a problem. However, it became a problem – a very big problem – when we were watching Game of Thrones and he got a little too excited. When he was at work one night he googled the show and read/watched HUGE spoilers. Half the fun in a story for me is the anticipation and theorizing. But Mr. Blabbermouth over here was too excited and began spilling the beans. I told him repeatedly to shut up or die but he only got worse till I finally had to sit down with him and explain to him as calm a manner as I could that he needed to stop telling me the show’s secrets or he was going to find his tongue ripped out, his lips sewn shut, and his body floating bloated and lifeless in the river.

No, not really. Though I was tempted. He doesn’t listen to my death threats as they’re never serious. So I told him that I would hide the DVD when it came in the mail and watch it the next day while he was at work and my son at school. Then I’d immediately package it up and mail it out again so he couldn’t watch it. After that I might drop hints at what was happening but never really tell him anything but mostly I’d just stay silent about it all. I also refused to talk to him about the show after that. It’s no fun sharing something with someone when they can’t keep their bloody mouth shut about spoilers.

He stopped after that but the damage had already been done. It was laughable then and it’s laughable now but not for me. I was seriously upset about it because he was ruining one of the most awesome stories I had ever heard/seen/read.

Time passes, Game of Thrones has faded into the background, and along comes Agatha Christie again. He was curious. Who did it? Instantly I perceived my time for vengeance had come. I told him with a slow, sweet smile that I knew who it was. The confession practically shouted it out. Didn’t he know?

Man, that confession lasted pages and pages. And I read him every word of it. Every time he asked me who the killer was, I’d just smile and keep reading. I won’t reveal who did it here but it was surprising. I didn’t like the end of the confession because it described how the killer completed his/her final murder. It was a complicated process and it just didn’t ring true for me. Too complicated. Too difficult to imagine. Simple murders are the best. The rest were awesome; just the last one seemed contrived. The letter was signed by the killer so I waited a moment before finally reading the name to him. He was super surprised when he heard it. I think everyone would be.

“Vengeance is mine!” MUWHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

Finally! Instead of blabbing spoilers, I made him writhe and wriggle in suspense. Serves him right. Goodness! It felt good!

1044b279687ac17a5627215e5d1013f3.jpg

Later on when I related the whole thing to my mom she said I was evil for doing that to him. I think my actions were justified.

What do you think? Are you a spoiler blabber or more like me?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vengeance Is A Dish Best Served Cold

    • I thought what I wrote looked wrong but I didn’t have time (or inclination) to look it up. Thanks! 😀 Reading By The Pricking Of My Thumb now. I’m bored. But I’m sure it’ll get better. Mommy said it was good after all. I’m also at one of those times when I can’t decide what to read so I keep picking up books and losing interest in them a couple pages in. Currently inching through 3 books (not counting Game of Thrones which I’m taking a break on).

Leave a Reply

