That In-Between Stage

There’s a stage in my reading that I always eventually hit – what do I want to read? I pick up a book that I think I want to read and I’m going strong for however many pages before I get distracted by whatever. The next time I sit down to read, I want to read something else. So I pick up this other book and go for perhaps 10 minutes before putting it down and feeling like something else.

I just can’t find the right book to read!

by-the-pricking-of-my-thumbsCurrently, I started with By The Pricking Of My Thumbs by Agatha Christie. I really wanted to read another of her mysteries and I had yet to read this one (the only one I own oddly enough). A couple chapters in and I’m bored and playing with my iPad.Persuasion1995cover

The next day my husband puts in the movie Persuasion (1995 with Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds) and the next thing I know I feel the burning need to read the book. Whenever I watch that movie, I always want to read the book. Doesn’t usually happen with any of the other movie adaptations of Jane Austen’s novels. Just that one.

9781902197258So I read about a chapter in and set it aside. Nope. My imagination’s calling for something else. The Case of Charles Dexter Ward by H.P. Lovecraft is at hand from the library. A chapter in and again, my attention is roving.

I don’t know what to read!!!  I think I’m in the mood for horror and mysteries but I can’t find the right one.

What should I read? Any suggestions?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That In-Between Stage

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    I hate that! I’ve been doing that for months now. Finally found an indie historical fiction set in ancient Egypt that I read in three sittings because MAN it was good. Gorgeous, in fact. Now I really want to read the second one, but I don’t have $5 to buy it. Sad me!
    If you’re in the market, Amazon has some pretty darn good free reads with a Kindle app. Can be hard to find a good one as opposed to a crappy story or good story with crappy editing, but I think it’s like treasure hunting. ^_^ Should be some good new stuff in horror with Halloween coming up, though. I think the iTunes bookstore has similar stuff, too.

    • I do have a Kindle app (got it specifically so I could read your book 😉 ) but I didn’t know they had bunches of freebies available. The iBook for the iPad has lots of freebies but I learned early on that they were a waste of my time. I don’t think I ever found a good one. So the freebies I take a chance on are the ones Goodreads recommends. I’m hoping that means they’re good. Of course, I could find that I’m mistaken in which case I’ll delete them, no harm done. Since I have limited access to the internet, I try not to sit there browsing through bunches of things though that happens too. 😉 hehe

      Thanks for telling me about the Kindle having freebies though. I may look into it at some point. 😉

    • By the way, I feel your pain with book money. I’m quite thankful Washington has an awesome library system. Even if my own (quite good in itself) library doesn’t have what I’m looking for, they can have it sent from another town’s library that does. Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

