Books as rewards? Yes, please!

image

Yeah, that has nothing to do with the post but I thought it was hilarious especially since that’s really what I look like when I’m not making an effort to look pleasant. I have mad skills at looking scary angry. All I have to do is let my face relax. BWHAHAHAHAHA!!!

No, I’m not joking. That’s totally true.

image

 

Anyway…

The Turdlet’s teacher started a reward plan for him to help give him incentive to behave himself at school. It’s been working very well I think. Here’s how it works: the teacher gives him a goal to work toward (the first one was following classroom rules) and if he completes the goal satisfactorily during a specific time, he can color in a star for that time period. The day is broken up into 5 periods and right now since it’s the beginning, he aims for at least 3 stars. When he comes home with at least 3 stars colored in, I give him a reward.

He’s been doing so well! He’s done following classroom rules and is now working on controlling his body. He got 5 stars yesterday!! Woo!!

I was going to give him 50 cents for his reward but my parents visited and my mom and I went crazy in the bookstore. Last time this happened I got away with way too many books. This time though, it’s my son who made out like a bandit…and he wasn’t even in the store with us!

image

The bigger purchases went with her to be held hostage in the guise of Christmas presents. The smaller (and much more numerous) ones went into a Surprise Grab Bag which became his reward. He closes his eyes, reaches in, and pulls out his surprise.

There were 2 videos in there (Bob the Builder and Thomas) and he enjoyed them but they didn’t hold a candle to the books. My little book lover! Woo!

imageHe pulls out a book and goes berserk happy. I ask him every time if he wants me to read it to him right then and there but he always says no. He’d rather look through it himself a few times first before I read it to him.

imageIt really makes my day that he loves books so much. And if they’re Lego Star Wars books, he practically pees his pants from joy. Lego City books have almost the same reaction.

Awesome!

What would you pee your pants out of joy to get?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

