Back from my break

I didn’t give any warning that I was taking a break from my writing blog. That’s because I didn’t know it myself until weeks went by with me writing nothing. They say, “Time flies when you’re having fun.” Well, it also flies when you’re ignoring it.

It’s a new year now and I’m ready for a new start. You might notice that my fitness blog (Fitness Freak) is up and running again as well. New year, new me.

This is not a New Year’s resolution. Well, it is kind of but it’s not. I resolved to get my act together and get working again. I was feeling down that I wasn’t getting any bites on Night’s Treasure (though I’m still waiting on one agent who has the full ms) and wondering if I was wasting my time and what I was doing blah blah blah. The usual writer angst that comes and goes and you learn that the only thing you can do is deal with it until you can work past it. Whatever.

A couple days before New Year’s Eve, I sent out 2 follow-ups to some queries that should have gotten replies a while ago. One wrote back the next day (yay for not having to wait!) apologizing for the delay and explaining my ms got lost in the pile. But! It had positive news in it as well. It got short-listed to be looked into further…and then got lost in the short-list pile. She ultimately decided against it because she could only take on a few new projects, but that’s okay. Good news is that it was set aside to be looked into further instead of just being rejected outright.

Yay!

The other I’m still waiting on, but I have high hopes of being rejected…er…getting a response later this week. Maaaaaybe next week.

Needless to say, this is frustrating. In the beginning I thought getting a rejection was awful. It ripped me apart that first time. Now, however, I’m fine with getting a rejection letter. I have learned that rejection by silence is worse than anything because you’re left waiting…

and waiting…

and waiting…

every

day

for a reply that you never get. That is leagues worse than the actual letter of rejection.

So it makes me feel better when I do get a response. Yay! Someone’s paying attention to me!

In order to get past this frustration, I’m moving on. I’ll continue to send out queries for Night’s Treasure because I know there’s going to be someone out there who takes it on. I’ve gotten enough promising rejections to believe that. Yes, “promising” and “rejection” can go together.

At first I thought I would continue work on the rewrite of my original manuscript, Trick Or Treat, and I did start writing on it yesterday after reading some of the initial rewrite. Oh boy. Did the rewrite need another rewrite. Ugh. I didn’t trash it because there’ll be info in it that I’m sure will be helpful later, but I did start a new file to start over from scratch.

However, I was reading my son his bedtime story last night (Superheroes Storybook Collection…Thanks, Catwoman! He LOVES it! This is the 2nd time we’ve read the entire thing through and we’re going to start on the other massive book collection today for a 2nd time as well. Love ya!) …….

Uh…Lost my train of thought. As my dad and I joked yesterday, “I’m stuck in the state of confusion because my train of thought left.”

Anyway, one of the stories I read to Mini Me was about the Avengers and Loki trying to destroy Thor through the Hulk. It’s fun but hardly accurate Norse mythology. Still, it put me in the mood (as it always does) for Norse mythology. I wrote in some of my query letters that my next planned project was going to focus on Norse mythology. What a butt of me if I proved myself a liar. But I still wasn’t any closer to coming up with a story for it. About 2 years of thinking and reading and I was no closer than when I started.

Culture notes were getting in my way.

After getting totally sidetracked by watching Poirot after the story, I went to bed and closed my eyes.

BAM!!!

My eyes popped open and proceeded to dry out as the beginning of the story played itself out in my brain.

It was awesome.

I need more culture notes to solidify the idea, but I think I’ve got it. The Vikings History Channel show inspired me. In ancient Scandinavian culture, when a woman gave birth, she presented the baby to her husband. If he accepted it as his own, he’d hold it and give it a name. What I don’t know is what would happen if he didn’t accept it. And thus my heroine is born.

Now I need a Norse female name and I don’t want to do a repeat of Svea which is what Sophy was originally named. Oh yeah, and a title. I’ll call it Norse for the time being. I’d call it Ice and Fire but it’s clear to everyone who knows me that I’m obsessed with Game of Thrones and that series’ name is A Song of Ice and Fire so that’s a no go.

I started writing this morning and haven’t gotten much but it was enough to get the ultimate beginning down. And if I want to juggle everything else in my day then I can’t spend more than the morning at my computer. Besides, it hurts certain muscles/tendons to sit at my desk for so long. Can’t do it. Won’t do it.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

