Side Effects of Researching Norse Culture

So lately I’ve been getting my nails dirty writing my Norse story. Does that happen to anyone else? I doubt the guys care but, ladies, do any of you get dirt under your nails after you’ve been typing on your keyboard? It usually happens when I work for at least 30 minutes. I could’ve literally taken a shower right before sitting down at my computer and my nails will still be filthy by the time I’m done. There must be hidden dust and dirt in the keyboard.

9A funny thing happened to me the other day. When I’m not writing about my Norse story, I’m thinking about it or thinking about Norse culture and myths or thinking about the show Vikings from the History Channel or reading about any of the above. Or I could be obessing over Blogilates which is completely different. Does it sound as if I’ve become a mite obsessive?

Maybe I have. After all, I did dream the other night that my camp was being attacked. My friends and I scurried to get our axes and join in the battle to defend ourselves. I remember a feeling of fierce honor and enjoyment as I grabbed my ax and ran off to join everyone. I wanted the honor of battle and of killing my enemies.

katheryn-winnick-stars-as-shield-maiden-lagertha-in-history-channels-vikingsWhen I woke up I didn’t feel fear at having been going off to my potential death or disgust at having wanted to kill people. That savage thrill of it all was still with me. I still wanted to pick up an ax and growl and yell at my enemies before trying to whack off one of their arms.

vikings-3-475x316If reincarnation is real, then I hope I was a Norse woman or man in a previous life. Awesome. Just awesome. I mean, I have no doubt at all that it was an awful life. I mean, lice, wild animals everywhere, blood feuds, starvation, severe cold with no central heating… But still… Awesome. If I was a woman back then, I’d totally want to be someone like Lagertha from the History Channel’s Vikings.

imagesWho wouldn’t want to be her?? She rocks!!! On another note, her hair rocks too.

So, side effects… I’m lusting after being a viking. And has anyone seen Ragnar from that Vikings show? Yowzah! What a man.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Side Effects of Researching Norse Culture

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    I keep telling myself to watch Vikings, and I keep forgetting! I’ve been watching Gilmore Girls, instead. I never got into it when it was on tv, but it’s good fodder for the young adult writing. 🙂
    Did you see the recent articles about discoveries that show Norse women probably represented about half of all colonizing/settling groups? Darn male archaeologists assuming that swords and battle armor defined a man. Poo on them!

  2. Oops! Thought I replied to this. Sorry! I didn’t see those articles but I had always taken it for granted that women would be part of that considering a settlement etc wouldn’t last long without women to procreate with.

    I read a couple books that struck me as being very Gilmore Girls-ish with the speaking. I discovered that while it’s entertaining on the show, it doesn’t ring true in a book and was a huge turn-off for me. I ended up disliking the books and only read the, because I had bought them and was vaguely interested to know what happened next. But that’s my opinion. I’m guessing they must’ve made an impression on YA girls because that author has more than a couple published works. Still. I’ve read much better YA books out there that didn’t try to incorporate the fast-talking wittiness of Gilmore Girls.

Leave a Reply

