Spiffy Information

Whilst researching Norse culture, I learned something spiffy. Well, I’ve actually learned a lot of spiffy things but this one hits super close to home. Like, my own grandmother kind of close.

smelly_fishWhen my dad’s mom was alive, she would say that fish and company start to stink after 3 days. I think it’s a good idea to remember when visiting people because I feel pretty much the same way. With relatives I like and am used to, I can go for longer than 3 days but for everyone else I get tired of them around day 3.

What does that have to do with Norse culture?

I was reading Viking Age: Everyday Life During the Extraordinary Era of the Norsemen by Kirsten Wolf and she says,

“…No one must try the hospitality of his friends too hard, but instead move on, for by the third day the loved guest is loathed…” (pg. 70)

Don’t visit someone longer than 3 days. “Fish and company start to stink after 3 days.” WOW!

So I’m thinking this is a family saying that links my grandma to her Swedish heritage (her family emigrated to the U.S. from Sweden when she was a baby). And that cultural note of keeping visits under 3 days can be traced all the way back to the time of the Vikings or even before. We’re talking, like, maybe before 790 A.D. or C.E. as the book says. If anyone knows what C.E. stands for, please tell me.

That is totally AWESOME!! For me it’s like a connection to the past. This saying of my grandma’s (one which I use as well) connects me to the past. The ANCIENT past. Something people practiced before 800 A.D. is still in practice (or at least in thought) today. By me and my family.

I know this is totally Nerds-ville for most people, but I’ll happily set up residence in Nerds-ville to keep that direct line to the Vikings.

I just thought this was super cute. What?? A fish hat!!

stinky-fish-3

On another note, my grandma had another saying that I like to remember: “What’s yours is mine and what’s mine is my own.”

She was a wise woman, my grandmother.

I’ll end here with a riddle. If you know the answer, please comment. My next post will reveal it.

I am the eye that weeps the most when best pleased.

What am I?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spiffy Information

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    CE stands for Current Era, and travels with BCE – Before Current Era. Scientific, right? It’s the preferred annotation for people and professions that don’t want to use Jesus as the reference date. It’s still the same set of years, though.

  2. ShadowDancer says:

    Also, your link to the vikings is WAY COOL! I LOVE stuff like that! 😀

    • Thanks! 😀

      I figured the years were the same so it didn’t make sense to me that a different name or whatever would be used. Picky picky is what I call it. Oh well. At least we’re all on the same page unlike with the Lunar calendar. If only New Year’s Day could fall on the same day everywhere in the world.

Leave a Reply

