Too much free time during the holidays

Ugh. I’m sick and bored/antsy. And all this coughing is giving me heartburn so that sucks too.

Good morning! I know you haven’t been awake for 15 seconds and now that your son’s Christmas break has started you don’t need to wake up early, but here’s some heartburn. STAY. AWAKE.

Yeah, you heard me. I said CHRISTMAS. It’s probably titled “Winter Break” at his school to be politically correct, but everyone in the class was wishing each other a Merry Christmas (my family included) so I have a feeling the school is more Christian oriented. That’s not to say they ignored the other holidays though. These last couple weeks my son came home with different holiday-themed artwork and crafts. They learned about Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Ramadan. Cool.

While I’m not religious, I do enjoy holidays that allow me to give my son presents and decorate the house with festive, cheery decorations. It could be any holiday really but I come from a Christian background so it’s Christmas for me.

We’re really excited for the holidays this year. For weeks my son (he’s 6 years old) has been daily asking, “Is it Christmas?” Then something special happens and he says things like, “This is the best Christmas EVER!” or “I knew this would be the best Christmas ever!”

His excitement is seriously cute. And seriously annoying at other times. There are times he’ll be super disappointed that it’s not Christmas yet and he’ll get frustrated and declare that Christmas is never coming. Or a package will come in the mail for me or for his aunt and he’ll be disappointed yet again and declare that he’ll never get any presents.

I have very little sympathy for him at these times. We’ve all told him he can’t wrap his own presents, that his packages came a long time ago, and that we already have his presents ready. But I do empathize with his disappointment. When I was a kid I was always so excited to see a package come in the mail and was always disappointed when I found out it was for my mom (as it inevitably was). As an adult, there are times I deliberately buy things online just so I can get a package in the mail.

I’m not sure where I was going with all of that…Oh! Right. I was awake super early. I’ve actually been awake for quite some time checking my e-mail and typing away. Sucking on coffee and drinking cough drops…or the other way around. The reason this blog has been so silent is because I’ve had a job and I found it difficult to work up the creative energy to do any blog work. I thought to try a coffee blog because I was working at a Starbucks and enjoyed it, but life was so exhausting that I only got a few posts in before it fell into the background of my mind.

Although I enjoyed working to some extent, various matters made it super difficult to continue without going crazy and killing someone. It was a combination of a couple things and no longer applies. One reason it no longer applies is because I quit my job the weekend after Black Friday. Now that things are better, I’m looking for another job but have yet to get one.

In the meantime I have very little to do. I’ve been reading a lot, helping my parents, playing video games, taking care of my son when he’s home from school, and doing errands. It sounds like a lot but most of it’s pretty passive. Unlike most avid readers, I can only read for so long before my eyes die or my ears start bleeding. I also get bored after awhile despite a book being really good.

Two days ago I decided to take my dad’s offer of setting up his old laptop so I could write again. My husband took our laptop for his work when he moved away for his job so I’ve been s.o.l. in that department. My dad set up the laptop and yesterday I used it for the first time. I didn’t know what to write but I cleared my mind and started typing. There are times if I just start writing with nothing in mind, I get something after awhile. And I did this time. Sorta.

I don’t think it’s something I’d want to really put publishable effort into, but I am interested in where it could go so I decided to put it up here as an ongoing blog story or whatever those things are called. Though the first part is written, I haven’t looked back at it so it won’t be coming out for some days. I’ll do it for fun on my own terms, not as a biweekly or even weekly thing. No pressure. Just enjoyment. I hope other people enjoy it when it comes.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too much free time during the holidays

  1. Ray St John says:

    I’m Katie’s dad and she did get up super early. I know because by the time I got up, the coffee was already half way to cold. I considered the microwave but got lazy and drank it lukewarm.

Leave a Reply

