The Path of Moonlight: 2

If you’re just now tuning in, I’m doing a little story just for fun here. I’m not trying to get this published or even make it publishable – it’s just a fun story to pass the time. Well, fun for me anyway.

If you’d rather start at the beginning, The Path of Moonlight: 1 is the starting post. This is the second installment though so you haven’t missed much. FYI, the “idea” my main character is referring to in the first sentence is to run away from her guardians.

======== The Path of Moonlight ========

Though the idea had merit, I hadn’t a clue as to how to accomplish it.  How did one go about running away?  When I was at school, the teachers were there and security cameras aided their supervision.  When at home my guardians watched me.  It was a two-story house and my bedroom was on the second floor.  The windows didn’t open to my knowledge.  I tried them but my mother caught me and locked me in the hallway closet.  There were shelves in that closet so I had to lie on my side on the floor, my limbs held tight to my chest in a fetal position.  By the time she let me out my bladder was screaming and my arms and legs were cramped and going numb.

There was a straight fall from those windows anyway.  They wouldn’t have done me much good.

Months passed before I saw my opportunity.  I had been sent to the crawl space again.  We had been playing soccer in PE class at school and one of the other girls had collided with me.  I didn’t have the ball.  It wasn’t because I shied away from sports – I was all right at most of them – I just wasn’t aggressive.  I’d take what was thrown – or kicked – at me, but I wouldn’t run into the middle of things.  This time had been an accident.  We hadn’t seen each other.  I went home with a skinned elbow and PE clothes streaked with grass stains from where I had fallen.  My mother wasn’t happy and my punishment to teach me to be more careful and aware was to send me into the dark under the house.

This time I had no school books and no flashlight.  I had long ago learned to quell my fear at being there.  I cringed and quickened my breathing, schooled my face to show a fear I no longer felt so my mother wouldn’t dream up some new form of punishment, but I dropped the act when she was gone.  Fear wouldn’t help; it wouldn’t make my time shorter or easier.  But the flashlight did and I didn’t like not having it.  It had been years since I had been faced with total darkness.  Before I had to force my breathing to be fast, now I had to force it to slow down.

I hadn’t forgotten my tricks for calming myself and, though it took several minutes, my heart rate did slow.  That was when I saw it, my escape.  Though I didn’t feel despair at my situation, I felt hope now that it would end.

The crawl space was just that – a small space under the house.  It led nowhere and light had never found a chink in its wood and concrete armor.  But there was a sliver now.  I crawled toward it on my belly.  I didn’t need to go far before my hands found the wall.  The light was coming from underneath it.  There was a hole in the dirt big enough for my hand but the ground was hard and I couldn’t dig through with my fingers.  I needed a tool and I knew where to find one.

======== End of Second Installment ========

Hope you enjoyed this second installment of The Path of Moonlight and I hope to see you back next week (or perhaps later this week as today is Sunday) for the third. Hope your weekend’s been good to you!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in The Path of Moonlight, Writing Endeavors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

