ebooks + BookBub

Wow! It feels like it’s been forever since I last posted here. Every week I thought, “I need to continue with that story.” But every week I didn’t. I’ve been preoccupied with the fitness part of my life and since I started the story for fun and told myself I wouldn’t stress over it, I…well…didn’t stress.

I’m not continuing the story right now though, nor will I very soon because I’m still thinking about Charlotte’s back story. Well, still thinking about it when I actually do think about it…which isn’t often.

Now that the fitness part of my life is calming down, I’ve gotten back into reading and when I read I reeeeeeaaaaaad. Till my eyes become as dry as raisins and fall out of my head.

The last several weeks I really wanted a Kindle Fire to read books and comics on. I won’t go through my thought process or all that happened concerning Kindles because it’s a bit long and involved (not negative, just long and involved), but the end result was that I didn’t get a Kindle. I have an iPad (game apps will be the death of my brain and free time) and I have a Kindle app on it. Long story short – I found it pretty much does the same thing as the Kindle Fire so I’m happy.

My plan is that after I move, I’ll find a used bookstore and sell the majority of my books. Those I can’t sell, I’ll donate to the library. This would be extremely difficult because I love books and I love the feel of them in my hands, except I’ve done it before. Once you’ve done the heart-wrenching parting once, it gets easier and easier each time after. Much like murder I’ve heard. Not that I want to test that though.

From now on I’ll endeavor to only buy ebooks. We have limited space after all and this won’t be the last time we’ll have to move. Have you ever had to move boxes and boxes of books over and over again?? It sucks! I swear, I have to keep fit just to survive moving book boxes! And I have more than a few 30-40lb boxes. As does my husband except his are more like 50lb boxes (hardback books for his work).

It’s about this time that I was lucky (or unlucky, however you wanna look at it) enough to stumble across Rosemary Clement-Moore’s blog post – Bargains that are bad for my budget (with a giveaway). In her post she talks about a site called BookBub.

 

bookbubI had never heard of it before but it’s free so I moseyed on over there to check it out. All I had to do was provide the genres and authors I like and the site did the rest for me. They’re a gigantic list of books that are on sale and/or FREE! They connect to different sites that sell books like Barnes & Noble’s Nook, Amazon’s Kindle, and Apple’s iBook.

Why, if I’m an Apple lover, am I switching to Kindle for books? Long and involved explanation again so I won’t go into it.

So BookBub! Only one day using it and it was already bad for my health. Based off of genres and authors I like, it instantly created a list of book sales. I never got to the end of the list and I ended up downloading close to 24 free books and 10 samples of books that are anywhere between 99 cents and $1.99.

After that I thought the best thing for me would be to stop browsing through the list and concentrate on the samples I had just downloaded. I read through 2 of the 10…and bought them both. I refuse to read the rest of the samples at this time because I see now that it’s a dangerous game I’m playing.

……

I’ll probably read them as soon as I’m done reading the 2 books I’ve bought.

These aren’t complete crap books either. Along with the book blurb on what it’s about, BookBub also gives the number of stars the books have gotten from readers on Goodreads and/or Amazon. While most had anywhere between 250-600 5-star reviews, some had over 1000 5-star reviews. Some of them have been best-sellers too.

While I’ve never heard of any of the authors I got, that doesn’t make them crap. It just means they’re no Stephen King or Janet Evanovich. So far the 2 books I ended up buying I’m really enjoying. They’re different and fresh and they’re showing me that my writing doesn’t have to be pretentious or long-winded (800 pages for a horror story?? Really??) to sell.

I know a ton of people love long works, but my attention usually drifts off elsewhere when it gets too long. I mean, how long does a horror story really have to be to scare the pants off of someone? Make it too long and I’m no longer scared (very bad when it comes to horror) AND I’m super bored (deadly for any book). About that time is when I put the book aside and you see it get stale and rot in my Goodreads’ Currently Reading list.

If you’re a book lover (and you probably are if you reading a book/writing blog), go check out BookBub. It’s definitely worth a little time and it’s free!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ebooks + BookBub

  1. Sue Ranscht says:

    I’ve heard of BookBub, but haven’t visited. Based on your story, I’m not sure I should, but I think I will! So, thanks for that, Katie!

    • Lol You’re welcome. It doesn’t totally encourage us to spend money. Here are plenty that are free too. 😉 I’m sifting through the ever-growing pile that’s waiting for me. What I’ve read so far is mostly good (as I believe you’ve seen from those book reviews) so I’m happy. Except I’m getting them faster than I can read them! =O

Leave a Reply

