Book Review – Robyn Peterman

This is the final book I bought on my BookBub savings spree. Don’t get me wrong, I bought tons of free books (and still get 1-2 every week), but this is the last one I BOUGHT…with real money (as opposed to Monopoly money) after reading a free sample.

robyncircle-2Author: Robyn Peterman

“NYT and USA Today best selling author, Robyn Peterman writes because the people inside her head won’t leave her alone until she gives them life on paper. She writes snarky, sexy, funny paranormal and snarky, sexy, funny contemporaries.

Her addictions include laughing really hard with friends, shoes (the expensive kind), Target, Coke Zero Cherry with extra ice in a styrofoam cup, bejeweled reading glasses, her kids, her super-hot hubby and collecting stray animals.

A former professional actress, with Broadway, film and T.V. credits, she now lives in the south with her family and too many animals to count. Writing gives her peace and makes her whole, plus having a job where she can work in her underpants works really well for her.”

switchinghour-300Book: Switching Hour: Magic and Mayhem Book One

It’s hard to find the correct adjectives to describe Switching Hour. I haven’t read anything like it before. I have a feeling one of my creative writing teachers in college would sneer at it and say the writer wasn’t taking her craft seriously therefore it wasn’t worth reading. He was a bit serious. More into literary fiction I think.

While Switching Hour can’t even pretend to be serious literature, it’s really fun and that’s just how I like them. The “heroine” is snarky, shallow, and disrespectful (as evidenced at the start of the book where she’s in the “pokey”) but she is nice and does have a heart. It just takes a while for her heart to come out and play…and for good reason. Having an emotionally abusive mother and an absentee father not to mention never being able to keep a relationship with anyone will do that to a person.

The character was, for the most part, nicely constructed though there were some issues I had with her. Not her per se, but her portrayal. Throughout the entire book we’re told that she’s selfish (shown), shallow (barely shown), and unhinged (not shown).

Do you see my problem? I get minor references here and there that she’s shallow but she’s already getting over her shallowness so I don’t really see it. Mostly I just get to see that she’s a caring person who doesn’t want anyone to know it so she puts on this gruff exterior to hide it.

As for unhinged, I didn’t get that anywhere. Yeah, she threatens Shifters left and right but there’s nothing to show me that she’ll go through with her threatens to smite them. Except in one insistence and it wasn’t smiting – it was turning someone into a flat-chested baldy. And then she felt bad about it immediately after so she reversed the spell. That’s not crazy. That’s proving you’ll go through with your threats and then allowing the person the opportunity to be better later.

Good, practical tactics. Not unhinged.

Things also moved too quickly and were way too easy but I guess that’s the problem when you get a book that’s less than 200 pages. 134 pages to be exact (although Amazon says it’s 222 that’s probably counting the excerpts from the other books that have been added after the book’s ending). She could have easily given it an extra 100 pages in the middle and fixed that quickie problem.

The fight scene at the end was also hurried and waaaaaaay to easily finished. Now that’s disappointing because, while I can usually ignore hurried writing (to an extent), I can’t ignore a climax being anticlimactic and short.

If you don’t read the foreword before the book, you might think (like I did because I maybe kinda sorta only glanced over it) Sassy is an unexplained character who should be edited out of the book because she disappears after the beginning. The foreword assures you that she will return at some point though how she’s Zelda’s best friend I don’t know. I don’t see it myself because their relationship wasn’t really fleshed out as it didn’t really matter for the rest of this first book.

All in all I found the book quite fun to read but not worth the paperback price. I got the Kindle version for 99 cents and that’s appropriate. Audible has it for $1.99 which I think is actually pretty cheap considering audiobooks are notoriously expensive.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Robyn Peterman

  1. ShadowDancer says:

    Ebook page count is subjective, depending entirely on your device. Pretty much every device displays at its own preferred size, and that changes the number of “pages.” Amazon has its own algorithm, and they change it once or twice a year. Which sucks for authors in Kindle Unlimited, because we get paid by number of pages read.

    Glad to see you’ve jumped on the indie reading train! 😀

    • I was looking at the author’s website. On Peterman’s website she’s put that the book was so long. Yeah, I realized the book length changes for ebooks also based on how big you make the font awhile ago. I increased the font big time so I could read while on the treadmill and was all “Whaaat? Over 1000 pages??” It was actually more like 400 or something. I had to get the font really big. One book has been a real kicker trying to figure out page-wise because it’s been off from Goodreads # from day 1 so I couldn’t keep accurate track of where I was in the book. It was around that time I stopped keeping track of the page I’m on in Goodreads.

      Good to know about pay per page though. Been considering doing self publication.

Leave a Reply

