Quick Update

Just wanted to give a quick update to what’s going on in my writing-related world right now.

  • writing
  • proofreading
  • reading

Writing

There’s not a whole lot of writing going on but what there is is from Psyche and blogging. If you’re a fitness and health kind of person, you can check out my Fitness Freak blog for what’s going on in the fitness-related part of my world. My most recent post is about how social media can really hurt us mentally/emotionally if we’re not careful – Social Media’s Black Hole of Despair. The title’s a bit melodramatic, but still quite apt for a lot of people.


Proofreading

I’ve been proofreading an author’s novel. Won’t say which novel or which author but I will say it’s shaping up to be a goodie. So far I’ve been sent the first 15 chapters and, while the beginning needs a ton of editing (in my opinion) to lighten it up, the rest is just peachy.

It’s felt really good to proofread something that wasn’t science-related. Last night my husband finished a report he was writing for work and wanted me to proofread it because English is his second language. I’ve been doing this for him since before we were married and we sometimes joke that one reason he married me was for my proficiency in English. I’m not a science person but I have gained a semi-understanding of chemistry and microbiology through his papers and reports. But man are they B-o-o-o-o-o-o-ring!


Reading

That leads me into what I’ve been reading. It feels so good to read for fun after proofreading especially when the job is something like science. To be able to sit back and just read is so relaxing. I always appreciate it more after I’ve done a stint of proofreading. No longer do I analyze and think. I allow myself to sink in and get lost in the story.

It’s lovely.

vacation under the volcanoLately since my iPad reading time has been spent proofreading, the only “fun” reading I’ve been able to do is with my son right before bedtime. Every night after our other bedtime jobs are done, we sit in bed and read. For the past couple months, it’s been books from the Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne. We’ve just finished #13 – Vacation Under a Volcano.

It’s a good series, written for kids. Chapter books. We usually read 2-5 chapters every night. Osborne is a very good writer, combining just enough facts with creative storytelling to teach kids while keeping it interesting for them. My son loves the series so I try to keep up a steady stream of borrowing them so we don’t have to go without. We borrow hard copies from the library and digital ebooks from both our last library from when we lived in Colorado and our current library here in Nebraska. Overdrive is very much our friend.

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

