Suicide Squad Comics

Best-harley-quinn-covers-suicide-squad

Lately I’ve added comics into my reading queue. With the new Suicide Squad movie coming out today, I wanted to know as much as possible about the stories without actually digging for information. Just as I was getting tired of reading about various missions and violence, I ran out of comics.

crying baby

I had moved on from The New 52 Suicide Squad comics to the New Suicide Squad and it ended with Volume 2. It seems Volume 3 just came out a couple days ago but I’ve been reading them through Hoopla (free through the library) and they obviously aren’t going to have it yet so I’ll have to be happy to do without for awhile.

New_Suicide_Squad_Vol_1_1While I liked it for the most part, I didn’t like the last issue from Volume 2 of the New Suicide Squad. I mean, I liked it well enough but I didn’t like how they portrayed Harley. I know she’s certifiably nuts, but they hadn’t portrayed her so nutsy ditsy before. Nor had they shown her to deliberately and cold-heartedly leave a team member to die before. I suppose I understand why she did it, but I still didn’t like it and it didn’t ring quite right for me.

The comics are full of action, cruelty, violence, death, some humor, and some sexuality. Well, a lot of sexuality if you count scantily clad, big-busted women but I’m not counting that because that’s normal in comics.

One thing I really didn’t like from the first issue in Volume 1 in the New Suicide Squad was Joker’s Daughter. Grrr! What a wannabe. I was very happy when she got hers.

There’s not really much to say about these comics. There’s a story to them, yeah, but it’s not going to be winning any awards for depth and meaning. I’m not putting them down though. They don’t need to be deep and meaningful to be fun to read. And these are fun…if you like plenty of violence and action. If not, don’t read them.

It would’ve been nicer had they not painted Harley so skanky. I’m not altogether sure why they changed her old Harlequin outfit. I was happier when they gave her Harlequin pants and even when her bikini-like “booty shorts” increased to actual booty shorts length. And what was it with her and Deadshot for a bit? I’m glad that didn’t last.

Anyway, I was happy to have been able to read these comics especially because I won’t be able to see the movie for…I dunno…a really long time. I try not to think too much about it because I get pretty bummed when I do. However, this isn’t the first nor the last movie I’ll really want to see but be unable to see for at least months and months after it’s made its theatrical debut. Not a big deal. Life goes on.

harley

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

