Challenge Completed

badge-home-completed-1736dedbcd3c31946d5b98bb506c1051Yay! I completed my reading challenge for 2016! I challenged myself to read 100 books in the year 2016 and I’m actually over 100 books now. The main reason I was able to finish the challenge is that my son is old enough to enjoy chapter books now. He’s in love with the Magic Tree House books by Mary Pope Osborne so we’ve been reading several chapters almost every night and sometimes even whole books when we’ve had time and the book’s been exciting enough. We’re on book 27 – Thanksgiving on Thursday.thanksgiving on thursday

I’m not sure if we’ll keep reading after 28 because then they move from Morgan Le Fay to Merlin and those are quite a bit longer. We read 2 of them at the beginning of summer before moving back to get the entire series in order. Yep, we’ve pretty much read the entire series this summer. Before that was every Ninjago chapter book we could find.

0-545-34828-5When we went to SoCal during Spring Break with my parents I continued the bedtime reading routine but I was going to stick with just a couple chapters a night so I didn’t annoy my parents or keep everyone up too late. That plan went right out the window when I tried to stop and my parents and Mini Me immediately complained that they all wanted to hear the rest of the story. Luckily the 2 books I had brought each had 2 stories in them (one short story and then the chapter book) so the books lasted 4 days. My throat, on the other hand, got really tired from reading out loud about an hour each night.

All for a good cause – my son’s literary entertainment and my reading challenge.

I’m actually surprised I was able to get a full 100 books read. Maybe I should extend my challenge? Mini-Me isn’t going to want to stop our bedtime reading routine and after school starts I’ll have more Me time that I’ll be using for reading. Actually, I’ll also be using it for writing, working, and practicing POP Pilates but I’m sure there will still be a lot of time left for reading. I mean, I can do fitness stuff for only so long every day before my muscles give out.

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

